Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: I had no idea how exposed I am

  1. #1

    I had no idea how exposed I am

    I recently installed firestarter and after some putzing got it working and logging "hits". *I'm amazed at how often my system is being querried by unknown persons. *It's averaging at *2 Code Red Worm hits an hour plus frequent other access attempts that I haven't identified yet. *Fortunetly I'm not running windows!

  2. #2

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am

    I am not sure what firestarter is but you should try portsentry and logcheck. Great tools....At the height of the code red/nimda virus I was getting 2 or 3 hits every minute!

  3. #3

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am

    I'd recomend streaming some of your logs to a terminal or terminals so you can watch them in real time. It can be fun and educational.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,924

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am


    I'd recomend streaming some of your logs to a terminal or terminals so you can watch them in real time. It can be fun and educational.
    How do you stream the logs to a terminal?

  5. #5

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am

    You add a duplicate entery to your syslogd.conf like *.X /dev/tty8 if you want to X messages streamed to tty8.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,924

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am


    You add a duplicate entery to your syslogd.conf like *.X * * /dev/tty8 if you want to X messages streamed to tty8.
    Thanks. I will play with my syslogd.conf later today.

  7. #7

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am

    or you could just open a terminal and do:

    Code:
    tail -f /var/log/messages (or syslog)

  8. #8
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am

    If I am using Dial-up access will I need to set up anything like this?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    56

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am

    Correct me if I'm wrong, anyone, but firewalling for this reason is not necessary since the viruses seek ip addresses and with a dialup, you don't have an ip address per se, the ISP does. It's necessary for direct connections like dsl since you are assigned an ip address. At least this is how I understood how it was explained to me.

  10. #10

    Re: I had no idea how exposed I am

    you still have an ip address it's just dynamic as in it changes all the time

    your just as vulnerable except your not as wanted, who needs a 56k computer whos ip changes?

    still you should be secure though.

Similar Threads

  1. Idea: Possible?
    By mike323 in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-01-2006, 02:23 AM
  2. ok here is my idea
    By sujoki in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-15-2003, 11:34 PM
  3. Good idea!
    By cga in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-29-2002, 07:11 AM
  4. Idea for LJr.
    By pbharris in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-04-2002, 05:06 PM
  5. Microsoft Store Offline After Insecurity Exposed
    By JimH in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2002, 02:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •