Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Thats it... I am starting over.

  1. #1

    Thats it... I am starting over.

    I am pissed at LINUX. LOL joking. My head hurts and I cant think. I am trying to install slack and buld a new firewall/NS.
    Any tips. Would be great and I will post here as I progress. OR WHEN I need help. Thanx ;D

  2. #2

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.

    So far so good. I boot of a (cough) 98 disk and ran part.exe (Ranish partion manage) to set up my partions. Nothing fancy. 128Meg swap and a 4gig for /. BTW Ranish Partions magaer is a great tool. A must have in my book. DL it it kicks. I am formating / now. I will post again soon.

  3. #3

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.

    Great......... >. It seems to hang on the first boot. on "LI" looks like half of Lilo. Perfect. I cant catch a break today. I know the install went to smooth to fast. Now what???Booting off of CDROM (again) I am running setup again. I canceled out of the software install part and its letting me make a boot floppy . Should have done that to begin with.
    Ok I installed LILO onto the MBR this time. Cross your fingers. I AM...

  4. #4

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.

    YES its booting......... ;D 8). It found one of my 2 nics during the install but I had to
    Code:
    ifconfig eth1 192.168.100.1 up
    to get the otherone up. But it seems to be working. Ok enuff for me today. Tommorow I will be setting up IPTABLES for limited internet access. And maybe start lookin at BIND. Scary stuff aint it
    Later,
    GZ

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,924

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.


    YES its booting......... * ;D 8). It found one of my 2 nics during the install but I had to
    Code:
    ifconfig eth1 192.168.100.1 up
    to get the otherone up. But it seems to be working. Ok enuff for me today. Tommorow I will be setting up IPTABLES *for limited internet access. And maybe start lookin at BIND. Scary stuff aint it
    Later,
    GZ
    Glad to hear that it booted this time. I love a challenge, so I am rarely frustrated when something doesn't work. I just post here or rummage through every online resource that I can.

  6. #6

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.

    Back on the case this morning. I am going to start looking for info on iptables. And setting that up. If you all know of some good link postem here would ya. I will post mine as well in case someone is following along.

  7. #7

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.

    Ran into a problem that I am going to need someones help on.
    Slackware.
    rc.inet1: I used this fill to configure eht0 and it seem to work fine. However I have 2 nics so what file do I use to configure the second nic "eth1". I guess I could add to rc.inet1 putting the ifconfig string I need in there. But If I do that why not juist make a new file that has to ifconfig strings to config both cards and bypass rc.inet1. Hummmmmmmmm. What launches rc.inet1. Where is that called from. its in /etc/rc.d/ so does everything in there get called upon boot time.
    Any insight would be great..
    Thanx GZ

  8. #8

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.

    the first script that is called is rc.S it gets called from init which is defined in /etc/inittab. Then when entering Multi user mode the rc.M gets also called from init. The rc.K runs only when you put the machine into single user mode .. or runlevel 1
    Code:
                   /etc/inittab 
                   |   |    |
                 rc.K  |    rc.S --- rc.modules 
                     |    
                    rc.M  
                      |
                      |--- rc.inet1
                      |--- rc.inet2
                      |-- most of the other rc scripts

  9. #9

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.

    reply Thanx .
    I went ahead and rem'ed out the call to rc.inet1 and wrote my on script. I call it from rc.local and it seems to be working. Is this a good,bad,ok idea. Should I have diobne this another way?

  10. #10

    Re: Thats it... I am starting over.

    Everything seems to be working as of the moment. I am a little conserned about all the stuff commented out of /rc.d/rc.M but other than that I feel pretty good. I got the thing mounted and I got sshd running so I can work from my desk. Next is settinh up iptables for limited access. I have a script that gets the jobn done for chains. Hopefully not much to switch it over. Later
    GZ

    (the slack-firewall-nameserver saga)....to be continued

Similar Threads

  1. car not starting after running out of gas
    By cajunjoe in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 08:07 PM
  2. Starting a Business???
    By Rastar in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-11-2003, 04:45 PM
  3. Starting X in RH7.3
    By mrkeef in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-27-2002, 04:09 PM
  4. Starting gdm
    By LiNuts in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-11-2002, 11:35 AM
  5. enlightenment starting instead of kde?
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-05-2001, 02:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •