Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Domain, DNS is it possible - Page 5
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 45 of 45

Thread: Domain, DNS is it possible

  1. #41
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    84

    Re: Domain, DNS is it possible

    Yes

    How do I check

    * Whether the SMTP server is even running

    * Whether the mail is returned as undeliverable, and if so what is the error
    message in the non-delivery report.

    * Whether the mail stays queued up on the sending relay, and if so what is
    the transient error message

    * The error messages that are logged by syslog

  2. #42

    Re: Domain, DNS is it possible

    Well, the logs are in /var/log/maillog for mail, and /var/log/messages for system messages.

    To see if the SMTP server is up, you can telnet <yourip> 25

    so if your IP is 192.168.0.2, telnet 192.168.0.2 25

    if it accepts your connection, then the SMTP server is up.

  3. #43

    Re: Domain, DNS is it possible


    Also, you can't have a full domain pointing without a static IP address.

    All it involves is a static IP address, as you can use www.mydns.com for a free DNS management system. Just tell your registrar that mydns.com is the SOA (the master DNS) server for your domain, then you can set up all your domains and subdomains off of that at mydns.com. I have 3 or 4 domains that are DNS'd by them, such as j2solutions.net and foolclan.com.

    Without a static IP address, this is not possible.
    You can have a registered domain name without a static IP I did it for over a year using my registered domain name btshadows.net and having as you suggest a domain helper like mydns.com (I used dns2go) they then through a script that runs constantly link your domain name to your dynamic IP. It worked well as a matter of fact I still use them even though I have a static IP now.
    Rastar

  4. #44
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re: Domain, DNS is it possible


    You can have a registered domain name without a static IP I did it for over a year using my registered domain name btshadows.net and having as you suggest a domain helper like mydns.com (I used dns2go) they then through a script that runs constantly link your domain name to your dynamic IP. *It worked well as a matter of fact I still use them even though I have a static IP now.
    Rastar
    We are not talking about only Domain here. We are talking about mail server with MX record pointing to the real domain. MX server required Static IP.

  5. #45
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re: Domain, DNS is it possible


    # You must specify a non-privileged account to receive postmaster mail.
    # The postmaster CANNOT be root. *Until you specify a valid postmaster
    # alias below, all postmaster mail will be bitbucketed.

    postmaster: mb18@mydomain.com

    I then ran the commands

    [root@pac10fans aliases]# /usr/lib/courier/sbin/makealiases
    [root@pac10fans aliases]# echo "To: postmaster" |
    /usr/lib/courier/bin/sendmail

    I logged into mb18's webmail account and there is nothing in the Inbox
    the return receipt one dose not work either
    I checked my aliases file and it's only

    postmaster: compunuts

    and that do not have FQDN part of it... So I"m not sure that's the factor.

Similar Threads

  1. forwarding non-existent user to remote hosted domain of same domain name?
    By pushpraj nimbalkar in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 09:50 PM
  2. Domain ?
    By vern in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-05-2005, 08:51 PM
  3. Domain Name Hosting retrieval of domain?
    By Rastar in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2003, 03:46 PM
  4. Having a little fun with my new domain name...
    By gmoreno in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-31-2002, 07:29 PM
  5. The .ws domain???
    By mcdougrs in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2002, 04:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •