Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CD-ROM's, fstab, and detection probs.

  1. #1

    CD-ROM's, fstab, and detection probs.

    Well, it all seemed to work fine until I upgraded to RH 7.3. Now in E-Roaster where it would detect the read/write drives, it keeps loading 'scd0'. I don't seem to have a problem mounting the CD-RW (scd0), but it doesn't like being used by E-Roaster. It keeps detecting 'scd0' as the 'read' drive and the 'write' drive. Also, in GKLaunch, it will not allow me to mount it via 'fstab'. I checked the fstab file, and all was well. (Also because I can mount through CLI by mount /dev/scd0) One thing that makes me wonder is that in 7.2, I had it set like this: CD-ROM=scd0 CD-RW=scd1, and it worked fine. Now it will mount, but refuses to write correctly. I followed pbharris' PET in hopes for a change, but no luck. I now have both my 'cdrom', 'cdrom1' rm'ed, and my lilo set with 'append="hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi".

  2. #2

    Re: CD-ROM's, fstab, and detection probs.

    Nevermind.....my dumb ass linked scd0 to both cdrom, and cdrom1.

  3. #3

    Re: CD-ROM's, fstab, and detection probs.

    whew! I was looking at this trying to figure out possible causes...

    you have one foolish hiney!!

  4. #4

    Re: CD-ROM's, fstab, and detection probs.

    you have one foolish hiney!!
    LOL. That and an overwhelming amount of sleep deprevation. ;D

  5. #5
    Mentor coltrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,390

    Re: CD-ROM's, fstab, and detection probs.

    everytime i work on my system after not sleeping for awhile
    i lose all of my MP3s
    damn my luck

  6. #6

    Re: CD-ROM's, fstab, and detection probs.

    OK. Now I have a more legit question on the same subject. :P Ok, I can mount easily, but for some reason I can't listen to audio CD's anymore on the CD-ROM. :-/ Usually I could pop in the CD, and XMMS would just start the CD by clicking on the CD-ROM's dir. Now it won't do anything. :P At first I had my 'fstab' on that drive set to 'auto', but I changed it back. Now when I try to mount it, it does it's usual, " mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/cdrom1,or too many mounted file systems" like it should. Just for some reason XMMS doesn't want to play it. :P

    Another thing, and I'm not sure if it makes a difference or not, is that I have 'scd0', 'cdrom', and 'cdrom1' listed in "fstab". I guess that should be normal for someone with 3 CD drives, but I only have 2. Just to let you know, I have the 'scd0' linked to 'cdrom', and 'scd1' linked to 'cdrom1'.

Similar Threads

  1. ARP detection
    By raditya in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2007, 05:19 PM
  2. help for soundcard detection
    By kuldeep in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-01-2007, 07:11 PM
  3. CD drive detection with cdrecord or cdrdao
    By sirbone72 in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-25-2004, 09:17 AM
  4. vga detection
    By mjewel in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-10-2002, 03:30 PM
  5. Intruder detection and Linux
    By Bogler in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-14-2002, 05:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •