Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
cant connect to network
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: cant connect to network

  1. #1

    cant connect to network

    hi
    i finally got my driver working with ndiswrapper. and i did all my setup with iwconfig ( the network name, managed mode, wep key) but still im not getting a connection, when i do iwlist scan, my network is visible.
    is there something im missing here
    here is a ss
    http://www.imagehosting.us/imagehosting/showimg.png/?id=269646[/img]

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    253

    Re:

    Dear n00b,
    Hello,

    Try to check your route and also try to ping www.yahoo.com and show what you got ?

    # ping www.yahoo.com
    # route -n


    Best Regards.
    Frrkh hmd

  3. #3
    i did no ping reply. The cards LED is lit up, and when i do that scan command i do see the network


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    253

    Re:

    Dear n00b,
    Hello,

    Quote Originally Posted by n00b
    i did no ping reply. The cards LED is lit up, and when i do that scan command i do see the network
    Can you tell me which provider you are using ?

    are you getting Static/Dynamic IP Address ?

    # iwconfig wlan0 ap 00:0D:3A:24:C2D

    Best Regards.
    Frrkh hmd

  5. #5
    i have cable internet
    usual setup
    wall -> modem --> router -->computer & wireless
    ip address is dynamic, using DHCP


    EDIT:: going to go try dhcpcleint wlan0 command
    ( i did it before but gave me errors or something brb with ss )

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Administrator Moderator
    Member
    starfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    141
    What does your /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-wlan0 file look like?

    It appears that you have none based on the error messages. It should look like this:

    DEVICE=wlan0
    BOOTPROTO=dhcp
    ONBOOT=yes

    Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    IT WORKED
    tahnk you starfish
    jus tiny problem
    NOW, when i boot up the intialization for wlan0 does come up but it fails (threw ndiswrapper) and then when i go back to terminal and do modprobe ndiswrapper it doesnt work
    i had to remove it from the modprobe conf and then when it boots up it diesnt try t load it and i have to do it manually
    and suggestions on how to automatically get it working
    thanks a lot once again, finally dnt have to switch back and forth to go on the net

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to connect to wired Network
    By Randy Jackson in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2007, 05:24 AM
  2. Connect to local network fine, connect to internet - no go
    By thundersmurf in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-31-2005, 07:27 AM
  3. How do I connect to the internet
    By cwatkiuk in forum Suse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2003, 01:37 AM
  4. How do you connect?
    By jmcook in forum General Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-28-2002, 12:00 AM
  5. How to connect to a network
    By alloy in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-08-2002, 04:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •