Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2962
Link for the 56k connection crowd
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Link for the 56k connection crowd

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    16

    Link for the 56k connection crowd

    Lots of good info on configuring and testing modems (which I'm in the process of).

    Link:

    **LINK REMOVED**

    Edited by poster on 2/18/05

    Note: I realized that some of the information on the modemsite website was only available by subscription. This goes against my personal feeling about how this forum should operate; that is, a free exchange of information and opinions free of financial requirements.

    --Rob


  2. #2
    Mentor jro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    ... you poor, poor soul. Just tell me your not dialing into AOL and it won't be as bad as it could have been.
    jro - http://jeff.robbins.ws
    Linux counter#:213782
    GnuPG ID: 406238E7

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    16

    Re: Link for the 56k connection crowd

    Heavens, no, not AOL. I'm only a half-poor soul because I'm on a T1 at work The dial-up is at home. I used to have hi-speed cable service but I couldn't afford it after my daughter was born so I went back to the slow telephone lines. Now I'm trying to configure my serial modem in MEPIS along with a supposedly higher speed PCI serial port card. Fun, fun.

  4. #4
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    I used to be a 56k'er one time. Then, I got 1.5mb ADSL, and my life was made great! Perhaps someone could clarify this for me, is cable only 1mb?
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  5. #5
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    orlando
    Posts
    608
    cable, just like DSL, depends on where your getting it from

    i had 3Mb cable with roadrunner not to long ago... then i switched to 3Mb DSL with bellsouth (because a cable line is shared, and DSL isn't

    of course, when someone says 3Mb cable or DSL for a home connection, they are usually referring only to download speeds... my upload speed is something pathetic like 384Kb

    a T1 on the other had is 1.5Mb each way

    and my server sits on a Full Duplex 100Mbit connection

  6. #6
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    wow, I bet you get shit all lag when you do gaming, if you do. I remember surfing the net with my 14.4kbps modem 8 years ago, that really sucked! It used to take me hours to download things that were just over 1mb
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  7. #7
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    orlando
    Posts
    608
    pff... i remember BEFORE i had a 14.4... and i'm only 23 :/

  8. #8
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    16

    Re: Link for the 56k connection crowd

    I don't game much anymore but when I first had a cable modem I used to frag everyone in Quake. They thought I was a bot until I told them I was on a high speed connection. It was great to be king )

    --Rob

  9. #9
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    Hahaha! High-Speed internet was just so expensive a few years ago. My first computer was a compaq presario 7150, which cost me $4000. It had a pentium 75mhz (I was whooping those sad sods with 486DX 100mhz), 8mb Ram, 512mb Hard Drive, 4x CDROM, 1mb s3 Trio 64 Video, and Windows 95. Yes, my computer was able to play quake in all of it's glory (which is what you aimed for at the time), and I thought it was great that I had internet, let alone high speed. My, how things have changed, and I am only 20!
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-06-2007, 04:52 PM
  2. D-Link
    By Tri_X_Troll in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2006, 08:00 AM
  3. Link Affiliation now available!
    By genesis in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 02:19 AM
  4. Fun Link
    By paradox in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-30-2004, 01:33 AM
  5. For the studing crowd
    By in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-30-2003, 06:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •