Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

A couple of Redhat questions...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A couple of Redhat questions...

A couple of Redhat questions...

Im a Linux noob, so please make your responses as simple as possible ??? I just installed Redhat and I can't even get the simplest things to work. #1 How do I change the desktop reslolution? I cant seem to find it anywhere. #2 How do I configure my internet connection? I have a USB cable modem. Any help would be appreciated. BTW, i'm using that Gnome gui thingy ;D

Re: A couple of Redhat questions...

about configuring for internet;
    open the terminal. sign in as root. enter the command
    netconf <enter>

You will likely have many more questions about Linux as you get into it. It might be well worth your time and frustration reduction to buy a good Linux book (by now you should be able to pick them up second-hand from the Microsoft bum near the Salvation Army for next to nothing!).

For a great learning experience, change the screen resolution by editing the /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file (assuming you're running X-4.X.X, not X-3.X.X). See:

http://www.xfree86.org/4.1.0/Install3.html#5

for all the details. Welcome to Linux... 8)

Good Guru

. #1 How do I change the desktop reslolution? I cant seem to find it anywhere. #2 How do I configure my internet connection? I have a USB cable modem. Any help would be appreciated. BTW, i'm using that Gnome gui thingy *;D