Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Slackware won't boot up
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Slackware won't boot up

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    42

    Slackware won't boot up

    I'm going on 4 re-installs with slackware 8.0. The install goes fine, but when it's finished and I reboot, all I get is LI and a flashing cursor. I can boot from the CD then launch the OS on the HD after I login when I type startx it begins loading then crashes.

    Help!

    The last two time I choose full install, but nothing seems to matter. I know the drive is good, because I had Mandrake 8.1 on it prior and it ran with no problems.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re: Slackware won't boot up

    Did you make your system to boot up from the HDD when you installed it?? If not, boot up from the CD with "rescue root=/dev/hdxx" option and run /sbin/lilo again. And make sure your HDD's MBR is clean too by doing "fdisk /mbr". I had the problem last time when I had the old LILO on the drive and the new install won't over-write the old LILO thinking that it already have it in MBR.

    HTH...

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    42

    Re: Slackware won't boot up

    Okay I'm a morron! I guess I should have read the lilo config section more closely. I choose the surper something option which requires you to use fdisk to make it bootable. This last time I choose the mbr option and it boots right up.

    Even X works! Yahoo!

  4. #4
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    42

    Re: Slackware won't boot up

    okay, how do I change windows managers? Can I make X load automaticly, like Mandrake, to a login screen where I can choose the windows manager?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re: Slackware won't boot up

    Great.. choosing the MBR option should over-ride it. But for some reason, I found mbr to be too prone to corruption so I usaully leave my LILO on /boot partition and install "mbr" program on the HDD's MBR.

    Different people have different preference....

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re: Slackware won't boot up


    okay, how do I change windows managers? *Can I make X load automaticly, like Mandrake, to a login screen where I can choose the windows manager?
    Yes, on both counts. For changing the WM:

    To make desktop selection easy, Slackware also includes a program called xwmconfig that can be used to select a desktop or window manager. It is run like so:

    $ xwmconfig
    This program will help you change things. More info is here:
    http://www.slackware.com/book/index....rce=book1.html

    As for the booting into x (not recommended), you need to change the runlevel to 5 in /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1. I am not too sure where exactly it is (could someone with more experience with this please comment on it?).

    Hope what I have posted proves helpful. BTW: thayne...your avatar looks a little like Dave Letterman with a goatee.

  7. #7
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    42

    Re: Slackware won't boot up

    Thanks for the info! I guess I don't need to load directly into X.

    After my last post I found entering kdm launched X and gave me the login screen.

    David Letterman???? LOL!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    353

    Re: Slackware won't boot up

    okay, how do I change windows managers
    Create a file called ".xinitrc" in your home directory. If you want kde to load when you start X just write "startkde" in this file, if you prefer IceWM write "icewm" (always without the "&quot.

    "gnome-session" starts gnome, "blackbox" starts blackbox. Pretty simple. I think this is the easiest way of changing window manager.

    As for the booting into x (not recommended), you need to change the runlevel to 5 in /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1. *I am not too sure where exactly it is (could someone with more experience with this please comment on it?).
    I believe itīs runlevel 4 in Slackware.

    Look here on how to change runlevel.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re: Slackware won't boot up



    I believe itīs runlevel 4 in Slackware.

    Look here on how to change runlevel.
    That's right, I forgot that Slackware uses a different runlevel series than Redhat (darn rh books. Every single one of my Linux books deals almost exclusively with RH or one of it's off-spring!). Thanks for correcting me. It is much appreciated.

    Cheers

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re: Slackware won't boot up


    I forgot that Slackware uses a different runlevel series than Redhat
    Sucks, isn't it?? Debian uses run level 2 by default as well..... :

Similar Threads

  1. Master Boot Record / XP Dual Boot
    By gr8rcake in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2005, 05:06 AM
  2. Slackware 9.0 help
    By Recondite Phreak in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-22-2003, 09:37 PM
  3. Alternative boot method for Linux/Win2k dual boot
    By Spot in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-04-2002, 06:42 AM
  4. Slackware 8.1
    By jbstew32 in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-03-2002, 02:11 PM
  5. Slackware
    By jman_77 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2001, 11:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •