Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: adding a hard drive

  1. #1

    adding a hard drive

    In my little 133 file server I wanna pop in a 10 gig on the secondary ide controller. Anyways how do I format it as ext2fs or ext3fs and where should I mount this drive so it can share mp3s and programs to 4 linux and windows computers used by my family?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,924

    Re: adding a hard drive


    In my little 133 file server I wanna pop in a 10 gig on the secondary ide controller. Anyways how do I format it as ext2fs or ext3fs and where should I mount this drive so it can share mp3s and programs to 4 linux and windows computers used by my family?
    Will the bios correctly configure a 10gig hdd? I had to update the bios of my '1996' computer (p75) in order to 'see' the 8.4 gig drive I dropped into it. By the way, you will probably have to format a partition with fat32 in order for it to be seen by windows. I could be mistaken, as I don't have a network at home. Anyway, just pop it into the computer, and run cfdisk. Type cfdisk /dev/hd? at the cli. You will be given the opportunity to set up partitions and get them ready for formatting. Then, run mke2fs /dev/hd?. See: http://www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/mini/P...formating.html

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3

    Re: adding a hard drive

    pop it in

    at shell prromt fdisk the drive, i.e. fdisk /dev/hdc
    the hit n to create a linux partition - (type 82) - this is for ext2 or ext3.
    make sure it is type 82 by hitting t and entering 82. to see what you have hit p - you can accept the defaults and you will have one partition.

    hit m if you need help. then hit w - it it written.

    okay - now we have one big partition called /dev/hdc1

    to make it ext3 type
    tune2fs /dev/hdc1
    to make it ext2
    mkfs.ext2 /dev/hdc1

    now we can put an entry in fstab - lets call it mp3s

    it can look like this:
    Code:
    /dev/hdc1  /mp3s  ext3  defaults 1 2


    to share it with linux boxes put an entry in the file /etc/exports for it - mine looks like this
    Code:
    /mp3s sparches(ro) pookie(ro) 
    /home sparches(rw,insecure)
    be sure to ahve NFS running.

    for the windows computer you need something in your smb.conf file




  4. #4

    Re: adding a hard drive

    The bios looks like a relativily new bios with the blue background and you highlight them in yellow when you select the menus. Anyways I had to set the 4.3 as LBA to make it work in windows but the full 4.3 worked in linux without being set as LBA. I guess I'll have to get the 10 gig or whatever else I find at the computer show this weekend and just try it. BTW anyone else going to computer fest 2001 in toronto 23-25?

Similar Threads

  1. Hard drive
    By capsule in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-21-2005, 06:37 PM
  2. Hard Drive
    By Waka-Gashira in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-08-2005, 08:56 AM
  3. Windows adding hard drive
    By mojo jojo in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-08-2003, 11:37 PM
  4. RAID5: adding additional drive diff speed
    By Blaqb0x in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2003, 04:16 PM
  5. hard drive for the bin?
    By popcorn in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-25-2002, 02:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •