Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Using RealPlayer with browser
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using RealPlayer with browser

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    269

    Using RealPlayer with browser

    Have RealPlayer (8.0) installed and it runs if pulled up in the terminal window but cannot seem to get it up and running (Mozilla 0.9.4) in browswer (or in Netscape 6.2). When I click Plugins (under Mozilla) it says it is enabled. Isn't it supposed to pop up on its own? I am running Mandrake 8.1. Thanks!

  2. #2

    Re: Using RealPlayer with browser

    hello,
    i edited my mime type in mozilla and it worked. sometimes it works as a pluggin (i.e. in the browser winodow) and sometimes it works by opening an instance of realplay.
    hth

  3. #3

    Re: Using RealPlayer with browser



    Some versions of Mozilla have trouble with RealPlayer. I recall using a few earlier versions that would show RealPlayer in the plugin list but they couldn't activate it. I did what pbharris suggested and it worked but If your going to use Mozilla (which I recommend) download 0.9.6. It's been very stable for me and the tab browsing is better than earlier versions.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    269

    Re: Using RealPlayer with browser

    Please excuse the next question but I am relatively new to Linux. How do I modify mime types? I found it in Preferences but there is only one listed (HTML). Thanks for your time and patience.
    ---------------------------------------------
    hello,
    i edited my mime type in mozilla and it worked. sometimes it works as a pluggin (i.e. in the browser winodow) and sometimes it works by opening an instance of realplay.
    hth

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    269

    Re: Using RealPlayer with browser

    Actually I did download it, but was not able to install it. Not sure why. I had previously installed Netscape 6.2 and while having problems with that, my Mozilla (0.9.4) works better - in fact, it is getting all the changes I tried to make in Netscape!! Thanks for the tip.
    -----------------------------------------------


    Some versions of Mozilla have trouble with RealPlayer. I recall using a few earlier versions that would show RealPlayer in the plugin list but they couldn't activate it. I did what pbharris suggested and it worked but If your going to use Mozilla (which I recommend) download 0.9.6. It's been very stable for me and the tab browsing is better than earlier versions.

  6. #6

    Re: Using RealPlayer with browser


    Please excuse the next question but I am relatively new to Linux. How do I modify mime types? I found it in Preferences but there is only one listed (HTML). Thanks for your time and patience.
    ---------------------------------------------
    no problem!!

    Go to edit -> preferences ->navigotor -Helper applications .

    hit the new type button on the right. a box will pop up, fill out all the boxes, for type i put in realplay, for extension i put ram, and rm. then click okay - you should then be done.

Similar Threads

  1. MOVED: RealPlayer PET
    By pbharris in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2003, 05:24 PM
  2. RealPlayer PET
    By in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2003, 05:13 PM
  3. RealPlayer 8 G2
    By Funky Data in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-19-2002, 03:12 PM
  4. RealPlayer
    By papanohair in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2001, 02:47 PM
  5. realplayer
    By agar in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-26-2001, 11:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •