Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
cant get online with cox.net isp  PLS HELP
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: cant get online with cox.net isp  PLS HELP

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    338

    cant get online with cox.net isp  PLS HELP

    i did just fine with drake 8.1 and excite@home, but they went bankrupt., now my isp is cox.net.
    i open draknet, the internet connection wizard. i check the box autodetect. next window i have a choice: cable connection or lan connection, and ive tried each one. then next page, I check auto ip. next page: it shows host name as
    localhost/localdomain. CONNECTION FAILED!
    PS: hardware and connection are good. im now online
    using evil-empire m$ windoze . Help!!!
    ps: drake 8.1 recognizes my 3com905 card as a
    3com59x card.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    53

    Re: cant get online with cox.net isp *PLS HELP

    I'm not sure if cox still requires it, but did you put in the hostname that the install technician gave you when you first got @home? Mine was something like cx619232-z or something. The dhcp server wouldn't assign you an address unless it was set right. So make sure that your hostname is set correctly. I can't get more specific because I use a cable router/firewall type thing and it handled the switch transparently to me.

    And it's normal to detect your NIC as a 3c59x. That's the driver module for both 3c590's and 3c905's.

  3. #3

    Re: cant get online with cox.net isp  PLS HELP

    hello,
    does COX use DHCP or PPPoE for an setup to thier network?

  4. #4

    Re: cant get online with cox.net isp  PLS HELP

    If they use dhcp then you may have to pass the hostname to the dhcp server like Kuma-san said. You can try doing it manually...

    your_shell>dhcpcd -h cj3134456

    where cj3134456 is the hostname they gave you and dhcpcd is your dhcp client daemon. However, they probably don't use dhcp so this is all worthless...sorry

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    338

    Re: cant get online with cox.net isp *PLS HELP

    yes. cox.net does use dhcp, so this advice was xactly
    what i needed. will try it tonite . thanx!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    53

    Re: cant get online with cox.net isp *PLS HELP

    Well, did it work? (hopefully if you can answer, it did)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    338

    Re: cant get online with cox.net isp *PLS HELP

    followup: yes, the problem was host name,
    cox.net now has hostnames in the format
    mywifesname.sd.cox.net
    I got no help from cox:
    "we dont support routers"
    "we dont support linux"
    "me: whats my host name?
    cox tech support: (silence)
    me : whats my domain name?
    cox tech support: (silence )"
    im finally back online with drake 8.1 again ;D ;D ;D

Similar Threads

  1. Hey!  you...
    By pbharris in forum General Chat
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 02-16-2002, 09:26 PM
  2. Old  5 1/4 drives...
    By gmoreno in forum General Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-22-2002, 01:58 AM
  3. win question ..  
    By civ1492 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2002, 08:07 PM
  4. this is funny.  Go RH
    By pbharris in forum General Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-30-2001, 12:32 AM
  5. APC  + UPS
    By jenbass in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2001, 10:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •