Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rights to a Fat32 folder

Hybrid View

Rights to a Fat32 folder

Hi,
    I'm fairly new at Linux and I am having some issues which seem to be rights-related. I am running a WinXP/Slackware box. *I mounted hdb, a fat32 hard disk, as /shared. *As root, I can access all files in there with full permisions. *However, as a regular user, I can only read some of the files (I can't play the mp3's stored there...)
    I tried login as root and doing chmod 777 /shared, chown [/b]username
    [/b]/shared
    (I get an error saying "Operation not permited.)
    I assume it must be a rights issue. *Anyone has a clue? ???

Mentor

Re: Rights to a Fat32 folder

Hello,

This seems to be a common problem for people new to Linux.

Make sure the drive is not mounted, then as root edit your /etc/fstab file by adding the following line:

/dev/hdb1 /share vfat defaults,user,noauto,rw 0 2

Then as normal user issue the following command:
    mount /share

That should take care of the problem.

(I get an error saying "Operation not permited.)
    I assume it must be a rights issue. Anyone has a clue? ???
    You can't chmod a fat32 disk, the filesystem doesn't support it (stupid insecure windows disks! )

Do what cloverm said, should work fine.

If you have XP, you should really consider switching to NTFS, even though Linux can't write to it safely. Safe reads from a hd are really the only thing you need.

Hello,

This seems to be a common problem for people new to Linux.

Make sure the drive is not mounted, then as root edit your /etc/fstab file by adding the following line:

/dev/hdb1 /share vfat defaults,user,noauto,rw 0 2

Then as normal user issue the following command:
    mount /share

That should take care of the problem.

I tried doing that, but I am still getting access denied errors when trying to create files on that fat32 partition. Here is the content of my fstab:
    /dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda3 / ext2 defaults 1 1