Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Installing Ximian GNOME

  1. #1

    Installing Ximian GNOME

    Well... It took me two nights and day, but I finally downloaded Ximian. I copied it onto a cd then cp *.* into my root directory, it worked great not a problem.

    BUT (Yes I know you are all getting tried of my questions by now.) When I type uncompress -c solaris-rpm-db.tar.Z | tar xf I something along the lines of "A switch must be used with the old -f command." I have No clue what to do about that. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re: Installing Ximian GNOME

    Bizarre as this may sound, I had a similar problem. I just added the verbose switch (v) and then it worked fine. I don't know why, it just did. Does anyone know how to fix this problem? Or, does anyone know why my system allowed xfv but not xf?

  3. #3

    Re: Installing Ximian GNOME


    Bizarre as this may sound, I had a similar problem. *I just added the verbose switch (v) and then it worked fine. *I don't know why, it just did. *Does anyone know how to fix this problem? *Or, does anyone know why my system allowed xfv but not xf?
    I tried xfv a number of times and -xfv, both of then in many different combination as well and still no luck. This is what I typed
    uncompress -c solaris-rpm-db.tar.Z | tar xfv it just didn't work.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re: Installing Ximian GNOME



    I tried xfv a number of times and -xfv, both of then in many different combination as well and still no luck. This is what I typed
    uncompress -c solaris-rpm-db.tar.Z | tar xfv it just didn't work.
    Well, it was worth a shot.

  5. #5

    Re: Installing Ximian GNOME

    try adding a dash - i.e.
    uncompress -c solaris-rpm-db.tar.Z | tar xfv -

    are you doinng this on solaris?

  6. #6

    Re: Installing Ximian GNOME

    try adding a dash - i.e.
    uncompress -c solaris-rpm-db.tar.Z | tar xfv -

    are you doinng this on solaris?
    Thanks Harris, I added the - at the end of the xfv and it worked. Another problem has popped up though. And no I am not on Solaris.

    I can't install in within an X Window system and it wants me to chaged the display settings for the installer with some sort of switch. I need change the display settings so that I may run the installer through a normal terminal. How do I do this?

  7. #7

    Re: Installing Ximian GNOME

    if i understand you correctly then you should go to a regular login, if redhat you can type init 3 as root at a prompt and then exit you window manager, should dump you to a screen w/o and windows running.

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Gnome
    By Wolverine in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2003, 08:03 PM
  2. Installing Gnome apps without gnome.....
    By CP in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2002, 12:20 AM
  3. Ximian Gnome, RH7.3: File association not working
    By Blaqb0x in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-23-2002, 02:37 AM
  4. Installing gnome 2
    By Static in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-12-2002, 04:36 PM
  5. ximian gnome on Solaris 8
    By tolstoy in forum BSD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-16-2002, 11:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •