Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Cable internet cant access

  1. #1

    Cable internet cant access

    I set up my linux at work installed the nic and connected directly to the Lan with out doing anything. I get home connect up to my cable internett and it fails to find an IP. Any suggestions would be awesome, Iam using net commander or communicomm. I called there tech support and they dont support Linux(didnt see that coming )

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: Cable internet cant access

    do you have dhcp enabled?

  3. #3

    Re: Cable internet cant access

    hello,
    what is net commander ?

  4. #4

    Re: Cable internet cant access

    I think I might have solved my problem. I contacted the cable service and had them to add an ip. So will see when i get home.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re: Cable internet cant access

    Even with your cable service adding an IP for your machine to use, you still need to change hostname, DNS server names in resolv.conf and all that stuff .......

    One thing I'm sure is that it won't be just plug the cable in and you are on the Net ...... Even in Windows, you can't do that unless you have multiple network config option turned on....

  6. #6

    Re: Cable internet cant access

    I used to get an IP from DHCP from cable internet. I had DHCP enabled as the configuration method, and I never had to add any hosts to the resolv.conf or hosts files...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    338

    Re: Cable internet cant access

    ive just been there tooo, so see
    http://www.linuxjunior.org/cgi-bin/Y...&num=10139
    :D

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: Cable internet cant access

    Well, at least with Time Warner's RoadRunner, DHCP took care of the DNS and such. No need to modify the settings. I know since, although I have a router (Netgear RT311), the techs usually don't have to work if they see stuff like that, so I hide it and plug it into my main box instead. All I have to do is change /dev/eth0 to use DHCP. Same for WIndows98SE and Win2K.

    Is /dev/eth0 even getting brought up? Is for some reason your ifup not getting run at boot?

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re: Cable internet cant access

    Yeah DHCP can take care of your DNS and gateway setting and all that BUT you HAVE to set up host name to get it working with any Cable or DSL service....

Similar Threads

  1. can't access internet
    By slam in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-15-2007, 12:30 AM
  2. How to access the internet
    By Steeljack in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-11-2005, 10:26 PM
  3. Replies: 31
    Last Post: 12-07-2002, 02:48 AM
  4. Trouble Getting Cable Internet To Work in Linux.
    By xin in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-29-2002, 06:20 AM
  5. Slow internet- Linksys Router Sharing Cable
    By microwiz2 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2002, 05:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •