Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2962

What mail server to use?

Thread: What mail server to use?

What mail server to use?

I am new to the email server world and am setting up a test website and mail server. I have a domain name already and have apache running for my website. I now want to get an email server setup, but i dont know where to start.

Do I run POP, IMAP, SMTP?? I read up on the differences between the protocols but its confusing.

My goal is to be able to send and receive mail from this server. The email address will be info@domain.com or similar, and I will either use my iPhone or a web based GUI to be able to check and compose new messages.

I believe POP is the way to go for the server side, and I will have to use SMTP to send outgoing messages, at least I think that is correct.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    beemer

You are on the right track. Sendmail / SMTP on the mail server to send mail and a POP/IMAP application like Dovecot running on the mail server so that people can use an email client like Outlook, Window Mail, and Thunderbird to get their mail.

My sites:
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    -
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Thanks Peter! I should have looked in the Wiki. thanks again!

-josh