Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

  1. #1
    Guest

    anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    I installed RH 7.2 on two seperate systems yesterday, each one had lilo problems upon rebooting. *One was a laptop, with a completely fresh install on a partition, the other was a desktop that was an upgrade to 7.1. *Anyone heard anything about lilo on 7.2?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    I take it that you chose LILO over Grub? My RH7.2 systems are all using grub. Much prettier. Same shit though nonetheless. No probs here. What exactly is your issue?

  3. #3
    Guest

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    Both systems when rebooted would get the dreaded Li and freeze. Had a boot disk handy, but thats not the point. Went in and checked lilo.conf and reran lilo to try and overwrite whatever the problem was. That didnt work either. Might just go ahead and reinstall just to get everything I want anyway.

  4. #4

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    I like Schotty am using GRUB, but i know of people using LILO w/ rh 7.2 and not haivng problems.

  5. #5
    Guest

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    I went ahead and reinstalled. Put grub on there this time to try something different. Liked it, very pretty. Everything works that I had a chance to try.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    Ya know, I wonder if you installed the bootloader in the wrong spot by accident when you installed LILO? That got me a few more times than I wish to admit

  7. #7
    Associate
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    37

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    I think I remember having that prob once when I installed RH7.2 and LILO. I just reinstalled with GRUB and everything worked fine

  8. #8

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    I had problems on a 133 when I installed redhat 7.2 with grub. I switched to lilo and have had no problems since although the pc seldom reboots. 22 day uptime so far

  9. #9
    Guest

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    about the only complaint I have so far is that xcdroast doesnt come with it. I know I just need to download it myself, but I was hoping I could select it on install like 7.1 .

  10. #10

    Re: anyone had probs with RH7.2 lilo?

    yah -
    i use the grub loader also for RH 7.2 and have had no issues with it. dual boots with multiple OS well also.

Similar Threads

  1. Linux probs
    By torch in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-02-2002, 08:09 PM
  2. Probs with RH 7.3 & nFORCE
    By tOrCh in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-01-2002, 07:31 PM
  3. gfx probs
    By doggiebone in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-16-2002, 08:15 PM
  4. bttv probs
    By Kernel_Killer in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2002, 04:22 PM
  5. bluefish probs
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2002, 10:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •