Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Switching boxes

  1. #1

    Question Switching boxes

    Hi,
    I have an old RH9 server connected to the 'net with dynamic DNS, now I have a new box (with Suse11) that is supposed to replace the old one.
    What things should I check before making the switch, and how can I determine that it all works as I planned before going live?

    All input will be very appreciated!
    /Kjell

  2. #2
    Junior Member girlygeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    54
    I'd check to see whether dynamic DNS and all the services tied to it work for you.

    You could set it up as you want, and use a client on your home network to test it. Edit the Linux /etc/hosts or Windows hosts file to redirect your dynamic DNS entry to the new server.

Similar Threads

  1. Keep your boxes in time sync
    By peter in forum Tutorials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 05:37 AM
  2. Switching user-id
    By hitendra_sh in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-02-2007, 12:33 AM
  3. switching advice
    By wouter in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-22-2006, 02:22 PM
  4. Switching to Windows
    By in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-05-2003, 07:46 AM
  5. html boxes
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-02-2002, 05:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •