by horus
Updated 13 October 2006
(Transferred from the wiki by Peter)

1.0) Background:

This PET relies heavily on my system configuration notes (dated 2004) to explain how to configure KPPP in Fedora Core systems. I either lost my original PET text, or did it online and didn't save a copy, so here goes:

This PET documents how to get KPPP to properly startup for a non-root user. Upon starting the kppp program as user horus for the first time after installing Fedora Core 1, I noted that it asked for the root password. I'd seen this before, with Red Hat from about 6.2 to 9.0, and wanted to do something about it. (I knew it was possible because Mandrake 9.2 works this way...)

Digging into this mystery, I discovered that Red Hat sets up kppp as a consolehelper app in PAM for security reasons. I am NOT an expert on PAM or on the finer aspects of Linux security yet. I do know that this method works.

2.0) Methodology:

Note: the KPPP Handbook is accessed by clicking on "Help" in the kppp dialog box. Read the section having to do with security and kppp very thoroughly. It isn't the whole picture, but it helps to understand how Red Hat et al at the Fedora Project have altered (read: messed up) kppp's default behavior.

Rather than bore you with all the changes I went through to get where I am now, with a working non-root kppp client, I'm just going to get on with the steps that really work.

Before we get into the steps, though, it is relevant to note that I had previously created a new group (kpppusers), added my kppp users to that group, and then created an /etc/kppp.allow file with kppp users listed in it. This is all covered adequately in the KPPP Handbook, so look at it for further details.

(Note: the easiest way I've found to create new groups is by using the 'Users and Groups' option under the 'System Settings' menu in KDE. You will, of course, need to be root or su'd to do this...)

On to the steps involved now...