Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ypbind running but not available under rpc info.

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Taipie, Taiwan
    Posts
    4

    ypbind running but not available under rpc info.

    Hi,

    Good Day.

    I'm a novice to linux and trying fedoracore 9 as NIS server using VMware, i followed the steps from

    linuxhomenetworking.com/Quick_HOWTO Ch30_:_Configuring_NIS

    I started in the "Configuring the NIS Server" portion and Installed ypserve rpm for fedora9 i386, all worked fine until after i start ypbind service, when i do rpcinfo -g localhost the service is not available..but if i do service ypbind status, it shows it as running..

    now if i create an nis user and i do ypmatch it will give me "can't match key user in map passwd.byname: Internal NIS error"

    hope anybody can help or give me advice on this..

    thanks,
    joel

  2. #2
    NIS requires portmapper (rpcbind) to be active also. Is this running?

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Taipie, Taiwan
    Posts
    4
    yes, portmapper is running

    below is my rpcinfo:

    program vers proto port service
    100000 4 tcp 111 portmapper
    100000 3 tcp 111 portmapper
    100000 2 tcp 111 portmapper
    100000 4 udp 111 portmapper
    100000 3 udp 111 portmapper
    100000 2 udp 111 portmapper
    100000 4 0 111 portmapper
    100000 3 0 111 portmapper
    100000 2 0 111 portmapper
    100009 1 udp 980 yppasswdd
    100004 2 udp 994 ypserv
    100004 1 udp 994 ypserv
    100004 2 tcp 997 ypserv
    100004 1 tcp 997 ypserv
    600100069 1 udp 822 fypxfrd
    600100069 1 tcp 824 fypxfrd

    only ypbind is not running but if i do service ypbind status it gives me :

    ypbind (pid 7504) is running...

    could this be firewall issue.? i tried adding port 924 udp and 927 tcp on my firewall for the one i read has their ypbind using this port and protocol but still it wont work..

    thanks for the inputs..

  4. #4
    It could be a firewall issue. have you tried using tcpdump to see whether the outgoing NIS packets are getting any replies?

    What does syslog say? Debug level logging would give the best results.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Taipie, Taiwan
    Posts
    4
    i will try your suggestion and update this after. I will still have to search more on debug level logging and tcpdump to understand it more..

    by the way, i get can't "communicate with ypbind" if i run yptest domain name is ok.

    again thanks,

  6. #6
    Where's the firewall? iptables on the VMware instance or a separate appliance? NIS mostly uses broadcast traffic when communicating with clients, and unicast when communicating with other servers. You'll need to take that into consideration.

    Does it work when the firewall is disabled?

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Taipie, Taiwan
    Posts
    4
    still did not work when Firewall was disabled.
    i also noticed that if i do rpcinfo the user for yp daemons available is unknown..could this be a problem?

  8. #8
    Junior Member girlygeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    54
    Do you see anything in syslog that looks unusual? Most likely in your /var/log/messages file. Running at debug level will help you out a lot.

  9. #9
    does `ypwhich` point to the correct server?
    63,000 bugs in the code, 63,000 bugs,
    ya get 1 whacked with a service pack,
    now there's 63,005 bugs in the code!!

Similar Threads

  1. ccie info
    By reenu in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-06-2006, 09:45 AM
  2. Where Do You Get Your Info???
    By beezlebubsbum in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-10-2004, 09:32 PM
  3. ip info
    By friskydrifter in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-24-2003, 05:43 AM
  4. running remote command, then leave it running
    By Blaqb0x in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-2003, 10:36 PM
  5. WTF? webmin gives me NT IIS info?
    By popcorn in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-22-2002, 11:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •