Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: to take image of a remote machine

  1. #1

    to take image of a remote machine

    Hi,

    I would like to take image of a remote machine so that i could use it to restore in case the server crashes.

    Thanx in advance.

    Regards,
    Audi.

  2. #2
    I've used partimage before with good results:
    http://www.partimage.org/Main_Page
    63,000 bugs in the code, 63,000 bugs,
    ya get 1 whacked with a service pack,
    now there's 63,005 bugs in the code!!

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    to remote in, ssh is the tool.

    for imaging, modo rescue is the tool.
    Last edited by Schotty; 01-26-2008 at 04:32 AM. Reason: typo, linky linky.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by audi View Post
    Hi,

    I would like to take image of a remote machine so that i could use it to restore in case the server crashes.

    Thanx in advance.

    Regards,
    Audi.
    Hello,

    First of all, since you said remote, I am going on the premise that you don't have access to the physical hardware. You can take an image remotely if you have root SSH access to the server you are wanting to 'image'. The tool to use is called dd. For detailed help, you can type in dd --help at a command prompt.

    To make an image you would SSH or telnet (I suggest never using telnet) and type the appropriate dd command.

    Backup examples:
    dd if=/dev/hdx of=/dev/hdy
    dd if=/dev/hdx of=/path/to/image
    dd if=/dev/hdx | gzip > /path/to/image.gz


    The first example will acctually 'clone' the first HD to a second HD. The second will take an image of the HD and create a file (image) you can use to restore the HD. The third example will do the same as the second but also compress the file to take up less space.

    Now, the restore process is a little more tricky. As with any restore process, it is gonna require someone who is onsite with the machine you are restoring to do some work. If you cloned the HD to another one in the machine, it is a simple swap of drives and you are going. If however you took route/option 2 or 3 from about you either ship a HD with the restored image and have the person onsite install it, you have the person onsite install a mini-os install enough to get you on the machine and a second HD to restore the image to (will require the person onsite to switch drives once this is complete), you have the onsite person boot from a restore CD/DVD and set up remote access for you to be able to restore the HD from the backup file you created in example 2 or 3.

    Restore examples:
    dd if=/path/to/image of=/dev/hdx
    gzip -dc /path/to/image.gz | dd of=/dev/hdx

    These comands will restore an image taken by steps 2 or 3 above.

    Hope this helps.

    -S9-

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to access remote machine after network upgrade
    By n.dave in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-06-2008, 05:36 AM
  2. Squid at one machine and SquidGuard at another machine
    By Dogar in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2007, 05:11 AM
  3. Remote applications, Actually remote Windows Question.
    By Stevef22 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2006, 06:11 AM
  4. querying snmp from remote machine
    By sigix in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-14-2004, 03:36 AM
  5. Disk image
    By elovkoff in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-11-2002, 06:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •