Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Linux Software RAID help needed

Thread: Linux Software RAID help needed

Hybrid View

Linux Software RAID help needed

Hi there. NooB here. I'm in the process of setting up a home server using ClarkConnect, which I gather is based on Redhat Linux. I've got a bunch of SATA hard drives I want to set up in a RAID array. I have an 80GB drive which is to be dedicated for the operating system and applications. 2 x 250GB drives and 2 x 500GB drives I want to configure in a RAID array using Linux software RAID.

I'm trying to work out the best configuration of these drives in an array. I'm thinking of a striped RAID0 config between the 2 x 250GB drives. I was wondering, is it possible to use that RAID0 striped array (total 500GB) can then be used with the 2 x 500GB drives in a RAID5 configuration so I end up with 1TB of storage in a RAID5 array? I've read a bit about LVM and I'm trying to understand if this would help me in some way if I combined the 2 x 250GB drives.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm kinda stuck. I just can't seem to find any info on a similar config. It seems it should be possible but I just have no idea.

Hello,

First, that's a lot of storage! wow!

Second, software raid and LVM are different subjects. Are you using all of this for Linux ( Clark connect or Red Hat)? If I were using it all for linux, I would install alllllllllll that storage. You would have a /dev/hda (applications) /dev/hdb /dev/hdc (250GB) /dev/hdd /dev/hde (500GB). Did I get that right?

Commands
    #fdisk /dev/hdx
    m - (help)
    1. n - new