Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Xterm not working

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    417

    Xterm not working

    Hi,

    I log into a rh7.2 machine and try to run xterm but I get this.

    xterm Xt error: Can't open display.

    Can anyone tell what the executable that runs this and how to fix this thanx
    Im in a rush.


  2. #2

    Re: Xterm not working

    hello,
    it sounds like you don't have an xserver running, the rh box does not know where to export the display too or perhaps there is a permision problem.
    What are you telneting from? if win32 based and you have an xserver installed (e.g. eXceed, xwin32, Xfree86) then type env in a terminal, if the varible DISPLAY does not show up try a export DISPLAY=ipaddress:0.0 - putting in the correct IP address of course.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    417

    Re: Xterm not working

    Im ssh'ing from another linux box.

    what do you mean xserver?

    when I compare the tcp ports that are open on both machines I see the
    that port 1026 - nterm is open on the one that can xterm. But I don't know what the application is, other wise I'd install or enable it. what is the package that allows this called.??


    --I also did export DISPLAY=myIP and the same error came up.


    thanx

  4. #4

    Re: Xterm not working

    This page helped me out when I was fooling around with remote x sessions. http://jgo.local.net/LinuxGuide/linux-X-remote.html and a similar page... http://www.linuxgazette.com/issue52/tag/19.html

  5. #5

    Re: Xterm not working

    try xhost - while on that box, then try again.

Similar Threads

  1. Xterm, Eterm and aterm tips
    By postlogic in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-23-2004, 07:09 PM
  2. Transparent xterm??
    By in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-26-2004, 02:23 AM
  3. Kiosk/XTerm - what ip is connection from?
    By ph34r in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-01-2002, 04:14 AM
  4. xterm through linksys router
    By Blaqb0x in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-23-2002, 01:52 PM
  5. Re: Problems with Xterm
    By Killer_Penguin in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-11-2002, 04:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •