Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Linux cannot tolerate swapped IDE cable

  1. #1

    Question Linux cannot tolerate swapped IDE cable

    After many Kernel Panics I learnt that Linux goes to Kernel Panic once you swap the IDE cable or in other words say the boot device/hard-drive device name changes.

    I moved the Linux drive from Primary Master to Primary Slave or any other IDE interface it simply wont resume and goes to Kernel Panic - Not Syncing. Attempted to kill Init.

    Why so?!?! That is not the case with other operating systems. MS Windows for instance simple boots and runs gracefully from whichever IDE interface you run it from!!

    Any idea or workaround the problem!!?!??

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Depending on your bootloader, you need to set it to go to the correct drive. When it was a primary drive, the drive was considered /dev/hda1. When you switched it to a slave (secondary), it saw it as /dev/hda2, but the bootloader is trying to boot hda1. Simply make it a primary again, boot off it, and change the bootloader settings to the drive it will be when its a slave. Since I don't know the distro, I can't tell you what bootloader you are using. Second, some will allow you to use both GRUB and LILO bootloaders, so it knowing which one would also help.
    arrogance breeds ignorance

    Screaming Electron, Full of BSD Goodness

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Juneau, Alaska
    Posts
    31
    I beleive you'll find that the Primary Slave will be /dev/hdb1 or /dev/sdb1.

  4. #4
    I should use BSD less (not really). Camelrider is correct.
    arrogance breeds ignorance

    Screaming Electron, Full of BSD Goodness

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Wouldn't one also need to change mount points in /etc/fstab?

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    Quote Originally Posted by Pleiades View Post
    Wouldn't one also need to change mount points in /etc/fstab?
    Yes, unless everything is labelled, which is unlikely. Especiall with regards to swap and procfs and soforth.

  7. #7
    Associate
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    south England
    Posts
    23
    ..learnt that Linux goes to Kernel Panic once the boot device/hard-drive device name changes....
    I moved the Linux drive from Primary Master to Primary Slave
    Why so?!?! That is not the case with other operating systems. MS Windows for instance ........
    ... oh oh oh!!! MSWin needs its ntldr and the like or it will not boot!

    You should take a look at the linux boot sequence: http://www.linuxhomenetworking.com/w...x_Boot_Process

    linux boot files: /boot/grub/menu.lst or grub.conf (fedora) give the location on the drives hda1 or hdb1 or else and their files necessary to start the system

    example of a menu.lst file :
    title Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.18-5-686
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-5-686 root=/dev/hda3 ro
    initrd /initrd.img-2.6.18-5-686
    savedefault

    so if you changed the drives location from primary to secondary/ or master to slave you should also change hd0,1 as well as hda3
    in this example:
    / is on hda3 (primary master partition 3) ------ or hd0,2
    /dev/hda3 /

    while /boot is on hda2 (primary master partition 2) that's also hd0,1 [since the hd0 is the pri.master drive and we start counting the partitions from 0, while hda or hdb are the drives seen by the system (volumes) and we count the partitions from 1)
    /dev/hda2 /boot ------- hd0,1

    also, you need to take a look at the /etc/fstab and edit it to reflect your new position of drive/system files.

    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/hda2 /boot ext3 defaults 0 2
    /dev/hda5 /usr ext3 defaults 0 2

    Now you see Linux had some good reason not to be happy...

    I'd like to say that I don't agree that arrogance breeds ignorance, as for what I've observed, it's rather ignorance which breeds arrogance.
    Anyway, I still agree that both of them met in one person are a real pain!

Similar Threads

  1. Lan, Cable and PPTP (FIXED IP OVER CABLE)
    By mailservertest in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2005, 10:12 PM
  2. Cable
    By countach44 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-28-2004, 06:35 AM
  3. Replies: 31
    Last Post: 12-07-2002, 02:48 AM
  4. Linux and a hub w/ cable
    By stodgel in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-17-2002, 03:40 AM
  5. Trouble Getting Cable Internet To Work in Linux.
    By xin in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-29-2002, 06:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •