Thread: Need a step-by-step walkthrough

Exclamation Need a step-by-step walkthrough

.hello everybody.

i recently moved into a new home with my wife and we decided to have both of our pc's grouped in the same room. I have bellsouth fastaccess DSL and I wanted to share my connection with her so that she wouldn't need to use dial-up (not to mention paying the extra $ to do so).

well, I recently purchased a linksys (model #BEFSR41) router and I hope that this will accomplish what i'd like it to do, however, I've never done this before and i needed a step-by-step walk-through from anyone who would be so kind.

let me mention that I plan on hooking my xbox/playstation to this router so that I wouldn't have to switch CAT5 cables everytime i wanted to play, but obviously i won't be using the internet at the same time i'm playing (due to performance issues).

my computer runs on windows xp media center edition
    her computer runs on windows 2000

could this be accomplished?

thanks in advance.

This is easier than you think. I'm glad to hear you didn't get the router that the bell network gives in their packages (2wires are complete crap....really). Follow the instructions from the router on logging into the router, and familiarize yourself with the interface. Basically, plug your system's network cable into one of the 4 LAN router ports (numbered 1-4), make sure the adjacent light for the port lights up green, and then open a browser. Next, plug the cable from your DSL modem to the router's WAN port (It's set aside from the block of four). Go to the web address 192.168.1.1, and login with user: admin pass: admin (I think that's the user/pass. Double check in the router instructions).