View Poll Results: would u wipe out windoze completely and install linux?

Voters
21. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    12 57.14%
  • No

    9 42.86%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Would u wipe out Windoze completely and install linux?

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15

    Would u wipe out Windoze completely and install linux?

    what would u do?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Advisor
    redhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    811
    Why ask this question ?
    I would do it in a fraction of a second, infact that is what I always do when I recieve a machine with preinstalled windows.
    Don't worry Ma'am. We're university students, - We know what We're doing.
    'Ruiat coelum, fiat voluntas tua.'
    Datalogi - en livsstil; Intet liv, ingen stil.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    West Midlands England
    Posts
    57
    I answered no because my wife likes to play Tomb Raider and I cannot get it to run under Linux, so I have to keep XP, although I mainly use Linux.
    Linux Rocks

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    I have some time ago. The few games that I do play work beautifully under Cedega, and the oddball piece of software that cannot run under Linux or Wine somehow, VMWare server + Win2k image works great.

    Honestly the only OS for me is Linux. Mac OS X is nice, but I still prefer Linux. Vista is horrid. I don't like it, and feel sick that I actually paid for a retail copy for learning it for the field. Most peeps out there are hiring me to put XP on to rid themselves of the new woes that are manifested with running Vista.

    As bad as XP was (and is still), at least it worked.

  5. #5

    already done it

    years now that I use linux as main desktop at home
    of course, I do not play mainstream games (but there are solutions) and do not ask for msn video chat (and even then, I could find something ...)
    For tasks that absolutely need wincrap, I have a virtual machine, good enough, and runs very very rarely.

    bye

  6. #6
    Newbie kozuch82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nachod, CZ/EU
    Posts
    4
    I would. But I feel better using dual boot. Because of the few Win apps I NEED to run.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    Quote Originally Posted by kozuch82 View Post
    I would. But I feel better using dual boot. Because of the few Win apps I NEED to run.
    Depending on the apps, you may be able to get away with using VMWare server (free, just hitup vmware.com) and installing 2K/Vista/XP in that. This is what I do to great successes for dealing with my customers. I setup a VM of their machine(s) and just fire it up to test out any new software before it is deployed.

    Gaming will not work ... yet. That is something that they are slated to roll out soon in their paid products, uncertain about their free ones. Having paid for all of them (VMWare, Parallels, and VirtualBox), VMWare is the best by far.

    One friendly word of advice, have a dual core machine, performance rocks on Core2Duos big time, and lags a bit on Athlon XPs. My notebook kicks the crap out of my workstation in regards to vms for that ONE reason.

  8. #8
    I voted for no ... I casually play games ... thats why!
    Registered Linux User # 279330

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    70
    i dont have windows on my notebook. I only use Ubuntu. Though I have XP licensed copy but do not use that anymore.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    Quote Originally Posted by BadDudes View Post
    I voted for no ... I casually play games ... thats why!
    All the games I wished to play work in Cedega or are native. Check the Wine appDB and see if your titles work or not. If so, Crossover will run it well. Cedega is best for the titles that they officially support or the forums say are in great order.

Similar Threads

  1. completely new, trying to get networked to Windows...
    By in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-08-2003, 06:18 PM
  2. Access Linux from Windoze
    By mugs in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-11-2002, 10:53 PM
  3. JPG's from Windoze to Linux
    By Bogler in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-25-2002, 06:30 PM
  4. Windoze vs Linux armagatron
    By ASCI_Blue in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-20-2002, 11:18 AM
  5. Fun with RG Windoze! :-)
    By JimH in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2001, 12:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •