Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: New RH install and editing fstab for external jbod

  1. #1

    Question New RH install and editing fstab for external jbod

    Hi all,

    I hope this is an easy question... I am going to install RH REL5 (if I remember the version correctly...)

    Brand new install, and I have an external jbod with 4 drives.

    I would like only RH on this system, no dual boot. First, how do I set up the root drive for partitions? When you do a default, it wants to raid 0 the external drives. I want each external drive to be unique and seperate from each other.

    After RH is installed, how do I mount the drives in the fstab?

    /dev/sdc /disk1 ext3 auto,user,exec,rw,async 0 0
    /dev/sdd /disk2 ext3 auto,user,exec,rw,async 0 0
    /dev/sde /disk3 ext3 auto,user,exec,rw,async 0 0
    /dev/sdf /disk4 ext3 auto,user,exec,rw,async 0 0

    Does the above look correct? If so, what happens if, lets say disk 3 dies. Does /dev/sdf get "renumbered" to /dev/sde on a reboot so the next time I try to access /disk4 it won't exist and it is actually /disk3? Does that even make sense?

    Thanks in advance!
    Brian

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    Quote Originally Posted by bhenneke View Post
    Hi all,

    I hope this is an easy question... I am going to install RH REL5 (if I remember the version correctly...)

    Brand new install, and I have an external jbod with 4 drives.

    I would like only RH on this system, no dual boot. First, how do I set up the root drive for partitions? When you do a default, it wants to raid 0 the external drives. I want each external drive to be unique and seperate from each other.

    After RH is installed, how do I mount the drives in the fstab?

    /dev/sdc /disk1 ext3 auto,user,exec,rw,async 0 0
    /dev/sdd /disk2 ext3 auto,user,exec,rw,async 0 0
    /dev/sde /disk3 ext3 auto,user,exec,rw,async 0 0
    /dev/sdf /disk4 ext3 auto,user,exec,rw,async 0 0

    Does the above look correct? If so, what happens if, lets say disk 3 dies. Does /dev/sdf get "renumbered" to /dev/sde on a reboot so the next time I try to access /disk4 it won't exist and it is actually /disk3? Does that even make sense?

    Thanks in advance!
    Brian

    I prefer using lvm for the fs and software raid. For the most part when you install Red Hat (or derived distributions), it defaults to lvm, IIRC. Stick with that. This way you can eject a disk out of the volume and add to the volume with simple commands.

    Looksie here:
    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/e...ger/index.html

    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/e...me_Manager.pdf

    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/enterprise/

Similar Threads

  1. editing /etc/fstab
    By omidkamangar in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 11:01 PM
  2. how to install external modem fedora core 3
    By galvin in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2004, 09:42 AM
  3. Getting Firefox to run by editing firefox shell and editing moz_libdir
    By basho in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2004, 04:57 AM
  4. /etc/fstab
    By rwtoften in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-06-2003, 08:57 PM
  5. fstab
    By muppet-boy in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2003, 09:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •