Thread: Difficulties installing GCC 3.1

Hybrid View

Difficulties installing GCC 3.1

Hi all,

I'm trying to figure out how to install GCC 3.1 from source. I've tried several times to no avail. I'm a newbie to Linux, but I want to learn how to install apps from source. (I have read that the compiler would be the hardest thing for a newbie to install, so I wanted to figure out how.) I downloaded the full source tarball of GCC 3.1. I've read the documentation that comes with that several times (it's confusing, but I did it). So, I tried doing this:

$ mkdir gcc-build-3.1
    $ cd gcc-build-3.1
    $ ../gcc-3.1/configure --prefix=/home/x/Programs/gcc-3.1
    $ make bootstrap
    $ make prefix=/home/x/Programs/gcc-3.1 install

Now, to test out the compiler I have it compile a simple c++ program I wrote to output 'Hello.'. I type the following to compile and run the program:

$ /home/x/Programs/gcc-3.1/bin/g++ -o hello hello.cpp
    $ ./hello

When I do that, I get the following:

error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Isn't that my standard c++ library? Why wasn't that installed? And how do I install it?

(BTW, I'm running Mandrake Linux 8.1 Standard Edition with GCC 2.96)

Re: Difficulties installing GCC 3.1

IIRC, on a regular installation of Mandrake none of these libraries are installed unless you chose them. *Open the rpm management program thingy and check to see what you can or what you have installed. *Then, if you have a cd, just install the libraries.

When I looked through the Mandrake Update in Software Manager, I discovered they had GCC3.0.1-1.1 in RPM format (with it's libraries... it installed libstdc++.so.3).

GCC 3.0.1-1.1 and GCC 3.0.4 (installed that this morning from source) both compile the app... and the app runs properly and outputs 'Hello.'. However, GCC 3.1 still complains of missing libraries.