Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: autofs working with NIS from a map

  1. #1

    autofs working with NIS from a map

    Hi,

    I'm trying to automount users home directories using NIS and autofs, but can't seem to get it to work. I've worked through the example and that works fine, but NIS clients should be able to get the automount config from NIS. The clients /etc/auto.master is as installed by CentOS5 with the line:

    +auto.master

    and no /etc/auto.home. The NIS server (also CentOS5) has the following:
    /etc/auto.master:

    /home /etc/auto.home --timeout 300

    and /etc/auto.home:

    nisuser -fstype=nfs,soft,intr,rsize=8192,wsize=8192,nosuid, tcp 192.168.232.135:/home/nisuser

    (all on one line)

    ypcat auto.master gives:

    /etc/auto.home --timeout 300
    -hosts
    /etc/auto.misc

    and ypcat auto.home gives:

    -fstype=nfs,soft,intr,rsize=8192,wsize=8192,nosuid, tcp 192.168.232.135:/home/nisuser

    I can manually mount the share, I've turned off both iptables and selinux. I've tried putting the info in auto.master and auto.home on the client and autofs works fine.

    I'm obviously doing something wrong, but not sure exactly what it is. I'm guessing it's the syntax of the auto.home on the NIS server.

    So, to summarise: I can't get the NIS client to read the autofs maps when a NIS user logs in. Has any one got any ideas?

    Many thanks in advance - c_henry

  2. #2

    Fixed

    As often happens once you've posted your problem, you find you've found out how to do it.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    Quote Originally Posted by c_henry View Post
    As often happens once you've posted your problem, you find you've found out how to do it.

    What is the solution?

  4. #4
    Ah, sorry.

    On the NIS server my /etc/auto.master looks like this:

    /home auto.home --timeout 300

    and /etc/auto.home:

    * -fstype=nfs,soft,intr,rsize=8192,wsize=8192,nosuid, tcp 192.168.232.135:/home/&

    And that's it. Nothing to configure especially on the client. Seems that when I had:

    /home /etc/auto.home --timeout

    on the NIS master, the client was looking locally.

Similar Threads

  1. Imq not working
    By sahilmakkar in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-05-2010, 10:29 PM
  2. Imq not working
    By sahilmakkar in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 12:45 PM
  3. Pad not working
    By TeRG in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-16-2004, 03:52 AM
  4. PHP not working in RH8
    By Pleiades in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-24-2003, 01:17 PM
  5. Almost got it working...
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-19-2001, 02:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •