Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Graphics driver and os update help needed.

Thread: Graphics driver and os update help needed.

Hybrid View

Unhappy Graphics driver and os update help needed.

Hello everyone!

I'm new to Linux. I'm running the latest release of mandrive free on a fujitsu-siemens lifebook c1020. I'm fully intending that when I get the hang of it, and can find apps that do what I need, I'm going to purge MS from my life - Hurrah!

At present there are (actually, more than) two things which are giving me difficulty;

1) I'm having trouble finding a driver for the built in graphics card; It's an S3 ProSavageDDR VT8751. I though it was running ok till I tried google earth, which runs so slow it's unuseable. It's telling me I am running a graphics emulation, I think because it doesn't like the driver i'm trying to use, but as I say, I can't find a proper alternative. Help me!

2) I can't use Mandrake's update command because it says it can't find the proper paths to the four installation cds. I thought it would update from the web. How can I make it work? Help me!

I would really appreciate your help, please be gentle with me, I don't seem to understand much at all!

Not a clue about the graphics card ...

But you can add on-line 'repositories' by using the 'media manager' in "Install & Remove Software" and adding 'official updates' and 'distribution sources'.