Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Compiling and running an entire poject from command line/terminal on Linux

Thread: Compiling and running an entire poject from command line/terminal on Linux

Compiling and running an entire poject from command line/terminal on Linux

Hi,

I am Fedora Core 5 32+ bit os. I am a self taught guy and currently trying to get my head around the basics of C++ programming. I am at the moment using the command prompt only, to compile and run the small programs written in C++. Just a while ago I came across this site and something caught my attention, that was nothing else but some really basic interfaces consisting of menus, buttons etc written in C++. So I downloaded some of the code which was in zip format and unzipped the whole thing in a folder. Here is the web page.

http://www.codeguru.com/cpp/controls/menu/

I am still not used to any particular IDEs on Linux in order to be able to put all these files in one big project. So I was wondering if I keep them all in one folder as they are at the moment on my Linux machine and compile + run them from the command line/terminal itself without using any particular IDEs that work with Linux for example the Eclipse one. Thanks .....

Did you download source code for M$ Visual C++?
    If your answer is yes I should say that you are not able to compile it at all (except for the parts which are written in ISO C++).
    If you want to try Linux GUI programming with C++, try GTK or QT.
    Visual C++ and MFC only work on Windows.
    This will be over soon, and then I can ...