Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Unable to "port forward" for Apache.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unable to "port forward" for Apache.

  1. #1

    Unable to "port forward" for Apache.

    I have a wireless Linksys router and a Westell DSL modem...
    All of my computers are connected and can access the internet fine.

    I am trying to make my Apache server (running on Fedora Core 6 Linux) visible to the outside world. I tried port forwarding and port triggering for port 80, both to know avail.

    When on the Apache server, I can bring up http://localhost fine, but I cannot bring up the site based on the domain name or static IP assigned by my ISP.

    When I try to ping the public IP address, it claims the destination is unreachable.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Advisor
    redhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    811
    It can be limitations located in many pladces, basicaly your ISP, your DSL, your router, your firewall, your apache config, etc. a similar thread some time ago comes to mind.

    Perhaps the thread about port forwarding will provide some info, atleast the online portscanners that is mentioned can be of some help.

    You might want to check the advices given there first. If those aren't productive, then we're back to square one.
    Don't worry Ma'am. We're university students, - We know what We're doing.
    'Ruiat coelum, fiat voluntas tua.'
    Datalogi - en livsstil; Intet liv, ingen stil.

  3. #3
    Thanks for the response.

    I first started by tryint the online port scanner that you mentioned.
    After scanning the static IP address assigned to my me by my ISP, it returned with:
    "The host does not have a service running on port 80."

    Checking the Apache status via "service" indicates it is running.

    [root@pandora jpowers]# /sbin/service httpd status
    httpd (pid 8361 8360 8359 8358 8357 8356 8355 8354 8352) is running...

    ps -ef | grep httpd indicates apache is running also.

    -------------

    Running nmap -sT localhost returns the following listening ports:

    Not shown: 1691 closed ports
    PORT STATE SERVICE
    22/tcp open ssh
    80/tcp open http
    111/tcp open rpcbind
    631/tcp open ipp
    648/tcp open unknown
    3306/tcp open mysql

    Nmap finished: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 0.078 seconds


    ----------

    [root@pandora jpowers]# nmap -sT thestaticip

    Starting Nmap 4.20 ( http://insecure.org ) at 2007-02-18 11:07 CST
    Note: Host seems down. If it is really up, but blocking our ping probes, try -P0
    Nmap finished: 1 IP address (0 hosts up) scanned in 4.014 seconds

    NOTE: Note: Using the -P0 parameter, nmap seems to hang.


    --------------------------


    netstat -ln
    ...
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN
    ...


    -----------------------------

    [root@pandora nmap-4.20]# netstat -ln | grep 80
    tcp 0 0 :::80 :::* LISTEN

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Advisor
    redhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    811
    My best bet is, either your ISP, DSL modem or router isn't letting your connection through.. If you're sure the DSL modem and router is configured correct, then it's most likely the ISP.

    [root@pandora nmap-4.20]# netstat -ln | grep 80
    tcp 0 0 :::80 :::* LISTEN
    This indicates that apache is accepting connections on any interface, that beeing localhost or global IP.

    Now you didn't explecitly say what Westell DSL modem it is, since you have a seperate router, I suspect to either be model 6000, model 6100 or model 6110 but according to the Modem/Router manual page 85, you need to explicitly set which port-ranges it should forward to the local LAN interface.

    Since you're virtualy running a double NAT, the same thing should be specified in your linksys-router, now you didn't specify which model this is either... But I'm guessing it's a WRTG54-G[S|L] type.
    The manual for these models page 36, you need to route port 80 (and 443 if you want to use https) onto the local IP of your machine.

    If all these things are set as they should be, and you're still not getting any connections from the outside, then I assume it is your ISP which is blocking outside connections to your IP.
    Last edited by redhead; 02-18-2007 at 05:30 PM.
    Don't worry Ma'am. We're university students, - We know what We're doing.
    'Ruiat coelum, fiat voluntas tua.'
    Datalogi - en livsstil; Intet liv, ingen stil.

  5. #5
    Thanks. I'll double check these settings.

  6. #6
    I ended up just removing the router and replacing it with an 8-port switch. The port forwards work fine now...

Similar Threads

  1. TROUBLESHOOT: "Unable to open initial console"...PC UNABLE TO BOOT IN LINUX
    By sandeepundale in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-17-2006, 08:30 PM
  2. "MicroHat" "SoftRed"
    By Fatal Error in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2005, 09:03 PM
  3. "groupadd" and "tree" utilities are nowhere??
    By aromes in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2003, 03:50 AM
  4. error installing packages "krb5-libs" ; AND NVIDIA troubles
    By SaTaNcLaUz in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 11-14-2002, 09:26 PM
  5. Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
    By ph34r in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-06-2001, 04:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •