I have a full retail WinMe OS Cd and have installed over the top of a previous ME installation.

All goes well but before the reinstallation a message appears saying that this cd is not supposed to reinstal the OS from within windows ie, windows is running, I put the ME cd in the DVD rom drive and reinstal from there.

It then says do I want to keep my previous setting preferences etc.

I say no and the reinstallation occurs over the top of the previous instal and everything goes OK.

So question is - why does it say this warning when all goes well with the reinstal?