Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ptp vpn connection and viewing network comptuers

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4
    I have two locations connnected by a ptp vpn using two dlink dfl-300 firewalls. I have a win 2000 server pdc in site A. Computers in site B connect to the domain in site A and use a dns server that is in site A. When browsing the network on a computer in site B, all i can see is computers that are on the network in site A. I do not see any computers that are on the network in site B. Is there something i can do so that i can see the entire network (both A and B). all computers are using windows xp service pack 2.

    oh yea, forgot to mention that the vpn works fine. each computer connects to the domain without a problem.

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    You may have to create a share to be able to see them, at least once.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4
    Originally posted by genesis@Feb 14 2005, 04:27 PM
    You may have to create a share to be able to see them, at least once.
    [snapback]4170[/snapback]
    one of the computers in site B already have a couple shares on them. There are a total of 6 computers on site B's network, lets call that one B6. I do not see B6 on any of the computers on site B, even though there is already a share on it.

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    They are on the same domain, have correct IP address and don't have firewalls enabled?

    You can also try using static IPs instead of DHCP assigned.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4
    Originally posted by genesis@Feb 14 2005, 04:49 PM
    They are on the same domain, have correct IP address and don't have firewalls enabled?

    You can also try using static IPs instead of DHCP assigned.
    [snapback]4172[/snapback]
    they are on the same domain.
    site a -192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0 subnet/mask
    site b- 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 subnet/mask

    firewall shouldnt be the problem.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4
    Originally posted by cfutt@Feb 14 2005, 05:02 PM
    they are on the same domain.?
    site a -192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0 subnet/mask
    site b- 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 subnet/mask

    firewall shouldnt be the problem.
    [snapback]4173[/snapback]
    forgot to mention that in site B, i can manually search by ip/name for any other computer on site B's network. however i cannot search for site B's computers from site A's networked computers. Does this seem like a dns related problem?

  7. #7
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    It could be a DNS problem that's why I was suggesting static IPs for testing purposes. Maybe add an entry in the hosts file and see if that makes a difference.

Similar Threads

  1. changing hostname with out fouling up network connection?
    By bezdomny in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-23-2008, 12:25 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-06-2007, 04:52 PM
  3. Windows LAN: Connection present, but won't access network...
    By Lixus Looser in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-27-2004, 03:01 AM
  4. Viewing file over the network
    By mojo jojo in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-09-2004, 07:58 AM
  5. postgresql network connection
    By tomass in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-26-2002, 04:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •