Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Restore Feature

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    5
    I am new, and hope this is the appropriate place to post this. Every time I attempt to restore, it goes through the complete process, but in the end, tells me it was unable to restore to desired restore point.
    Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    Welcome to MSForums. This is the right place to post this.

    Likely the restore point didn't match the signatures, it does happen. In more easier words, Windows thinks the restore point is corrupt. You could do a scandisk and a defrag, which might help but not in all cases.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    82
    What restore utility did you use?

    Did you use system restore or system backup?

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Originally posted by millhunk@Jan 22 2005, 02:26 PM
    I am new, and hope this is the appropriate place to post this.* Every time I attempt to restore, it goes through the complete process, but in the end, tells me it was unable to restore to desired restore point.
    Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
    [snapback]2761[/snapback]
    It sounds like System Restore is corrupt. You will need to disable it and then re-enable it again. Unfortunately this will clear all past Restore points but seeing as you can't use it anyway there is no loss. Go to Control Panel->System->System Restore Tab. Check the box to turn off System Restore. Click OK. Reboot the computer. Return to System Restore Tab and uncheck the box then click OK. A new point will be created at that time and hopefully this will continue to work for you.

    You can also check here first if you like http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q302796/

  5. #5
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    Thanks for a much better sensing explaination tdk4u.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by genesis@Jan 23 2005, 08:10 PM
    Thanks for a much better sensing explaination tdk4u.
    [snapback]2826[/snapback]
    Thanks genesis, tdk4u, although I was ablr to log off my user account and log on to my sons user account and do a restore, when I logged back on to my own I was still unable to to it. So I took your advise and went to control panel and turned it off then back on..thanks again all who helped.

  7. #7
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    turning it off and on worked?

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    5
    Yea, like he said, I lost all previous checkpoints, but if it wasn't working, it made no difference. Like I said previously, I was able to do a restore using a different user account, indicating that maybe something in my user account was corrupt. I did what he suggested, and my initial checkpoint is 01/26.

  9. #9
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    Great. Didn't catch that one coming though. There are many issues with profiles going bad on XP for some reason.

Similar Threads

  1. History feature
    By ablemonk in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-27-2005, 04:27 AM
  2. Feature: Members Online
    By genesis in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2005, 05:21 AM
  3. New feature: Profile details
    By genesis in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-26-2004, 10:39 PM
  4. New IRC feature
    By Spot in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-26-2002, 05:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •