By Scott Mauvais, MCSD
Originally published April 4, 2002

---------------------------------------------

Confession: I wrote my first application with Microsoft Visual Basic .NET about a month ago. Not that I'm new to Microsoft Visual Basic??I've been using it regularly since version 2?but for some reason I never got around to playing with Visual Basic .NET until now. One of the main reasons for thedelay is that I never became very proficient in Microsoft Visual C++? .NET and I decided it was high time I learned one of the C-language derivatives. So I decided that as I worked my way through the Microsoft .NET Framework I would force myself to learn it through Visual C#? .NET.

After spending nearly 18 months with C#, I am still driven to the help system at least once a week to figure out the syntax for something I know exactly how to do in Visual Basic. So, a few weeks ago when the opportunity came along to develop an application in Visual Basic .NET, I jumped on it. The first thing I did was peruse a review copy of Programming Microsoft Visual Basic .NET (Core Reference) by Francesco Balena. This book should be generally available by the time you read this, and I highly recommend picking up a copy to help jump-start your trek down the Microsoft .NET path and learn how to use all the exciting new features in Visual Basic .NET. To get a feel for what is in the book and to make sure it is right for you, check out the book's table of contents and read the sample chapter.