Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Screenshot Thread...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    217

    Screenshot Thread...

    Post 'em if you got 'em Boys and Girls......

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206

    Gnomes? Power tools?

    Do you think this will draw a responce from JRO?

    Gnomes use majic not power tools!

  3. #3
    Mentor jro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    What ... the ... hell is with all the stinking Gnomes these days!

    On a side note, since both my babies are boxed up at the moment (read: still), everyone will just have to imagine my screenshot. Unless you want a screenie of my stock WindersXP work machine.

    ... yeah, thats what I thought.
    jro - http://jeff.robbins.ws
    Linux counter#:213782
    GnuPG ID: 406238E7

  4. #4
    here mine. Gnome on Ubuntu,


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missing Mile
    Posts
    122
    Running Debian sarge, gnome is from sid though


    GNOME 2.10 my Default


    &

    KDE 3.3

  6. #6
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206

    Woooo That is cool

    NOthing, man what is all that stuff up on Gnome? and whats that SETI stuff, I think I need that, just passed 3500 units on my seti.

    My desk top is soooo boring, what to do?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missing Mile
    Posts
    122
    You talking about the stuff in the lower left corner its torsmo, its a text based system monitor, i havent customized it yet, it can monitor all your partitionand other system stuff i learned of it through gentoo, the seti stuff i havent learned how to utilize it yet.
    Anyhow i got it through apt on debian

    apt-get install torsmo, or search torsmo in synaptic, if its not in ubuntus default which i would be suprised add a debian mirror.
    and heres the official site, the screenshots show what its capable of.
    http://torsmo.sourceforge.net/

    and check out this thread on gentoos forums its tips and tricks
    http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t...ht-torsmo.html

    I find torsmo is the best mix barely eats any of your system, you want something more graphicals search for gdesklets.

  8. #8
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206

    nifty stuff

    NOthing, I was talking about the stuff on the Gnome toolbar?
    But that SETI thing has me hooked, please learn how to use it and report back.
    I have my seti running in a term because I don't know how to make it run any other way. Its okay but I like to check stats from time to time.

    Its nice to see what other people have going on in their Linux world, always makes me jealous.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missing Mile
    Posts
    122
    Well the top toolbar is like a quick launch i have that as my default setting for all my distros, anyhow i wanted my thing to look like a mac somewhat, all i did was add applicaition launcher and gnome applets, right click on the toolbar and click add to panel you then should see custom application launcher, application launcher (shows you the menu layout i.e internet, sound and video, system, click the little arrow expands the options and you can add an application to the bar, i hardly use menus thanks to that., then gnome applets click add, right cl.ick on the newly added item and you will get properties, or some configure option.

    Top
    Left to right
    Menu, file browser, terminal, search for files, open office, abiword, gaim, firefox, amarok, totem, firestarter synaptic, gksudo (run as different user, log out, lock screen, force quit, notification area, clock/date, open windows, volume control

    Bottom
    Left to right
    pager, show desktop, open windows. (On ubuntu you should also have the trash applet).

    To have them not take the whole screen right click the panel then select properties, then click expand that will make it shrink and grow as needed, go to background, select solid color and you can make it transparent hope that helps.
    Note essential same for kde cept u need to add a panel.

Similar Threads

  1. Desktop-Screenshot thread
    By Black666 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 866
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 11:15 PM
  2. KDE3 Screenshot
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-22-2002, 03:27 AM
  3. Waimea screenshot
    By ursidae in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-15-2002, 12:04 PM
  4. KDE 3.0 screenshot
    By ursidae in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-13-2002, 09:01 AM
  5. Desktop Screenshot
    By rooster in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2002, 10:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •