Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Trouble with Taskbar Notificatio

  1. #1
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    649
    After formatting my computer and my daughters, hers is great but mine seems buggy. After the computer boots all that shows in start menu notification bar is Nortons. Logitech, Ad-watch, and Creative volume control do not show in the Notification. I have gone into customize notification and changed them to "show all the time" several times and saved the settings but all that comes back is nortons... Any ideas why its goofing up... :blink:

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    This should be in windows xp.

    If you have a little icon that looks similar in the screenshot below, click on it and everything should show up. If those items are not showing up either you don't have them running or they are not configured to show.

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    47
    If you change them to always show then that should take effect immediately. Most likely they aren't running.
    http://www.subdir.net/myFiles/logo.jpg
    Computer Specifications
    | CPU: Intel P4 3.0C
    | Motherboard: ASUS P4C800-E
    | RAM: Corsair 2x512MB PC3200 Dual-Channel
    | Video Card: nVidia GF4 Ti4400
    | Audio Card: Creative Audigy 2 ZS
    | Hard Drives: 36.7GB WD Raptor, 2x120GB WD Special Edition
    | OS: Windows XP Pro

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    or they are not configured to show there.

  5. #5
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    649
    Ok tried this and that and by the way since I've had XP I've never had that little arrow. I played with all the settings and nothing, there is something goofy going on I hope I don't have to redo it. :angry: Is there some more internal area I can look into to change the settings??

  6. #6
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    Right-Click on start button, Click on properties, Click on Taskbar tab, click on Customize on the bottom right, there you have all your settings. You can also try clicking on restore defaults and see what happens.

  7. #7
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    649
    Yeah tried all that , I was familiar with all those settings before but they are not making a difference. I think the creative software is causing the problem but what do I know...I don't use Win. Messenger and the dam thing keeps making an appearence every 2.5 boots or so, so I updated it just to able to adjust the settings but just like everything Microsoft it seems to want to take over the world,. :angry:
    Theres something wrong (IMO) with what ever tells XP to load the utilities or something... :blink:

  8. #8
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    did you upgrade to SP2?

  9. #9
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    649
    Originally posted by genesis@Sep 27 2004, 01:54 AM
    did you upgrade to SP2?
    [snapback]291[/snapback]
    Definitely NOT I think thats the original reason I'm reformatting now. Even the lads over at the computer shop say STAY AWAY from it for now anyway.

  10. #10
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,159
    Right, I thought you may have upgraded.

Similar Threads

  1. Sub Window on taskbar in Icewm
    By iali in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 06:52 AM
  2. Disappearing Taskbar?!
    By blastoboy1000 in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2005, 07:11 PM
  3. USB HDD trouble
    By demian in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-20-2003, 11:57 PM
  4. taskbar time display
    By grimey in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-21-2002, 02:03 PM
  5. Gnome panel (taskbar) flaked out
    By RedHatNewbie in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2002, 02:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •