Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Dynamic DNS with static IP configuration

  1. #1

    Question Dynamic DNS with static IP configuration

    Hi All,
    I have a LINUX client computer having static IP configuration ( without DHCP). And if this configuration is changed, should this information be updated in the DNS server?

    In short, does Dynamic DNS make sense with static IP configuration?

    Any comment in this regard is highly appreciated.

    With Regards,
    nsv

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666
    If you have a static IP, you have no need for a Dynamic DNS. Dynamic DNS ensures that a server with a changing IP address is always available. If you're not certain that your IP is static, it wont hurt to use a DDNS though.

    CP

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Quote Originally Posted by nsvora View Post
    I have a LINUX client computer having static IP configuration ( without DHCP). And if this configuration is changed, should this information be updated in the DNS server?
    Yes.

    In short, does Dynamic DNS make sense with static IP configuration?
    Yes and no, it depends on what you want to do.

    I once used dyndns to forward one of my domains. I abandon it due to response time. It was all good in theory (set my dns entry for the domain to my domain provider, have them forward to dyndns configured domian and had it resolved to my server box). But there were too many hops that the query had to go through soon I found it barely useable in slow links such as with dial up.

    Now, I have the box run a script to compare ip address and if differ email me to webmail services such as gmail and yahoo. There, i will change the ip manually and the downtime seems less than 4 hours at a time. My ip change every 6 months or so and less than that most of the time so it isn't so bad. Since the server hosts very low traffic sites for only a few people, 4 hours downtime every 6 months seems very reasonable (at least to me).

    In your case, if you have to change IP manually, it is not too much trouble to also change DNS entry (at least IMHO). If you do it with script, the task can be trivital.
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

Similar Threads

  1. setting static IP on network with no static IP address from internet provider?
    By solvetek in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2011, 07:23 AM
  2. NIC With Static IP Assigning Itself Dynamic IP
    By Pleiades in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-30-2006, 05:14 AM
  3. loosing RAID while changing IP from dynamic to static
    By rookie in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2005, 09:23 AM
  4. Dynamic IP
    By jro in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 01:43 PM
  5. Dynamic DNS
    By pyfsapple in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2003, 10:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •