Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: GUI Interface

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21

    GUI Interface

    Good day all -

    two boxes, both redhat el3. I can ssh from one to the other, but that is in a text box.

    What does one need to do to get a "gui" connection to the other server?

    Thanks in advance - John.

  2. #2
    VNC. Here's a tutorial for RHEL 3
    http://wiki.mozilla.org/Build:Tutori..._a_RHEL_System
    My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive.

  3. #3
    You can always use GDM's bulit-in XDMCP. Edit /etc/X11/gdm/gdm.conf , and under [xdmcp] change "Enable=False" to "Enable=True". You can then remotely connect to the other system with:

    gdmXnest --xnest='Xnest -geometry 1280+1024 -query 192.168.10.2 -name myremotesystem'

    Of course, you can change the name to anything, and change the IP to the IP of the RH box you area connecting to.
    arrogance breeds ignorance

    Screaming Electron, Full of BSD Goodness

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Advisor
    redhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    811
    Or for a CPU hungry but quick fix:
    > ssh -Y user@server
    Don't worry Ma'am. We're university students, - We know what We're doing.
    'Ruiat coelum, fiat voluntas tua.'
    Datalogi - en livsstil; Intet liv, ingen stil.

  5. #5
    Associate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21

    Thanks

    Thanks to all of you!

    John.

  6. #6
    Associate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21
    I've got the vnc bit going OK. The screensaver comes on after 1 minute. I see where to edit that in my home directory.

    Having said that, what password is it looking for? It does not take my linux user login password.

  7. #7
    Vnc has its own password.
    Step 2 of the configuration guide I linked to says how to set it up.
    Code:
    Set your VNC password.
    
        * vncpasswd
    My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive.

  8. #8
    Associate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21
    did that. It doesn't take the vncpassword - the one I use when I connect initially with vnc.

  9. #9
    Are you asking about the vnc password or the screensaver password?
    My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive.

  10. #10
    Associate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21
    I set the vncpasswd. get the vnc session going. due to the settings in my home .xscreensaver (I'm guessing), the screensaver comes on if the vnc session is idle. At that point, it says xscreensaver 4.10, this display is locked. And it doesn't take the vnc password if I try to unlock it. Its almost like the screensaver password is set to something I don't know...

Similar Threads

  1. ipq_set_verdict. Interface changing
    By jacha in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2009, 04:20 PM
  2. Using lo interface for testing
    By kk_davey in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-02-2005, 04:56 AM
  3. Web-interface for burning CD
    By olleBolle in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2005, 11:16 PM
  4. GUI Interface @ installation
    By billy_blatt in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-14-2002, 03:19 AM
  5. Mail Interface
    By paradox in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-08-2001, 06:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •