Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Dual boot Mandrake 10 and WinXP problems

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    215
    Dialup connection, eh?

    What desktop environment are you using? The answer to this may make setting up the ppp account very straightforward for you.

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    217
    Sounds like you have a winmodem.

  3. #23
    Associate
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    11
    Well, just because I wasn't familiar with either of them really, I installed both KDE and Gnome. I thought it would let me choose between the two on boot or something, but it didn't. It went right into the OS. From what I can tell, it's Gnome. (Footprint isntead of the K and gears) Was this wrong to install both of them? Will it cause problems? Should I, or is there a way to, uninstall one of them now that they've been installed?

    And if I have a winmodem, is there a way to get this up and running?

    Though this is a huge concern for me; connecting to the internet...I'd rather have my video issues fixed first. I can't stand looking at that huge desktop. Do you know where to find drivers I could use.

    I'm off to search for them now, during my spare time at work (on a T1 line, not dialup) but any help would be great! Once I get the video working, and the connection to the internet....at least I'll be able to sit at home in the Linux OS and search the internet for my answers. It's a pain to need info, reboot into Windows and connect, reboot into Linux and do what I was told..hoping it will work.

    Will this work?
    https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...asp?deptID=894

    Thanks again guys...you're great.

  4. #24
    Mentor jro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,206

    Re: Choices?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fatal Error
    JRO, it could be worse, you may have to live in NJ
    ... *sigh :roll:
    jro - http://jeff.robbins.ws
    Linux counter#:213782
    GnuPG ID: 406238E7

  5. #25
    try this.

    https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...asp?deptID=894

    and get this

    ATI Driver Installer size 35.1mb Version: 8.14.13

    Sould install by doing this in terminal

    sh (filename)
    in the direcrectory its in,

    then cross your fingers that you have all the dependences.
    Good luck

  6. #26
    Associate
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    11
    I didn't notice that that link doesn't bring you to the driver. I downloaded the X.Org 6.8 and XFree86 4.3 files. I'm going to check to see what X-Windows version I have when I get home.

    And cross my fingers...

    By the files size you state, I'm guessing you were talking about the ATI Driver Installer listed there. What's the difference between that and the above mentioned drivers?!

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    217
    The ati installer probably determines what you're running, where its located and it makes it a lot easier to install the correct driver....

    Otherwise, you might be looking at having to recompile x/xorg

  8. #28
    Associate
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    11
    I got the vid drivers installed ad it worked great. I'm still learning this stuff, but simply getting the os up and running smooth is helping.

    As far as the modem goes, it is a winmodem. PCTel HSP56 Micromodem, and there are drivers for it. Unfortunately, there are no drivers for the 2.6.X kernel, which I'm running. I have to look into getting a different modem. (I have one in another system I'm going to try.)

    After the modem situation is straightened out, I had some problems installing a few other things that I'll have to take care of, but that'll be a LOT easier if I can be connected while in Linux so I can just search for the answers without having to boot back and forth between Linux and Windows.

    Thanks to you all for your help!

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    217
    glad to hear you got it working!!

    We'll help you out as much as we can....

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missing Mile
    Posts
    122
    Real quick you running x86-64 or x86. IF you run x86 you may want to check out apt4rpm. It ports debians package manager to fedora making installing things alot easier. In case you didnt get it you said something bout not being able to swtich between kde and gnome. On the login screen there should be something like session clicking that will bring up the various desktop environments. Also you can install as many desktop environemtns or window managers as you want. It may be set on auto login so find administratition and find login screen setup it will ask for a root password but this will alow you to change the login managers features.

    apt4rpm isnt available for x86-64, and is currently listed as fc3. One pitfall is fedora cores update utility last time i used it, took forever to update i dont know if that was fixed and apt4rpm takes care of updates for you or would.
    http://freshrpms.net/apt/

    On the winmodem that was what halted my first test with linux, until i got broadband, unsur but modems cost barely anythign now. Logging in with MSN shouldnt be too tough either, need anything else just ask.

Similar Threads

  1. Dual boot mandrake with win2kpro
    By grasshopper in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2005, 10:51 PM
  2. USB and Serial Port Problems + Dual Boot Question
    By Lixus Looser in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-19-2004, 11:54 PM
  3. Dual Boot RH9 and WinXP
    By Rastar in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2003, 03:22 AM
  4. XP Pro & Mandrake 9 dual boot
    By nomadfemme in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2002, 06:54 AM
  5. More Dual Boot problems
    By DaYee in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-04-2002, 12:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •