Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Dual boot Mandrake 10 and WinXP problems - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: Dual boot Mandrake 10 and WinXP problems

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    215
    You could use The windows bootloader to handle choosing the OS, or you could use something like system commander if you can't get lilo to do it for you.

  2. #12
    Mentor jro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    I second mcangeli on that. If you don't want to mess around with you MBR, just install the bootloader to a floppy. Or, just make sure Windows is setup to boot by default, that way unless someone interviens, it will boot to Windows.

    Here is a pretty good tutorial on making a boot floppy for Grub:
    http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Bootable_Floppy_with_GRUB

    Or here is a pretty good rundown on how to multiboot with the Windows Boot loader:
    http://pcquest.ciol.com/content/netw.../100080119.asp

    Let us know if you run into any problems!
    jro -
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    Linux counter#:213782
    GnuPG ID: 406238E7

  3. #13
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206

    Huh?

    1. Boot Linux

    2. Done

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    217
    Yea, I've always thought it best not to mess with windows. Especially XP doesn't have fdisk.

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    217
    Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain. This is only a test.

    der.

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    217
    Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain. This is only a test.

    der.

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    217
    right. He's a nutter (sorry to hijack the thread, but I'm working the bugs out in the email problem...)

  8. #18
    Mentor jro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    Quote Originally Posted by mcangeli
    Yea, I've always thought it best not to mess with windows. Especially XP doesn't have fdisk.
    Some of us unfortunately don't have that luxury.
    jro -
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    Linux counter#:213782
    GnuPG ID: 406238E7

  9. #19
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206

    Choices?

    JRO, it could be worse, you may have to live in NJ

  10. #20
    Associate
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    11
    Sorry about being gone for a bit, and not updating/paying attention to this thread.

    I've now successfully installed Linux dual booted with Windows XP Pro. One change though; I used Fedora Core 4 instead of Mandrake. (Mandrake hates me) I backed everything up, crossed my fingers, and took the plunge.

    It went flawlessly.

    I installed Grub, and wrote over my mbr. I have it set to boot Windows by default for my wife, and I can easily boot into Fedora...no problems.

    So, I do have a couple more questions. Not sure if it's ok to dump there here or just create new threads. I'll just do it here, and if you want I'll make new threads.

    Upon booting into Fedora, I was greeted with an 800X600 resolution. That sucks. I run 1280X1024 on a 21" screen...so you can just imagine how I feel looking at an 800X600 monster of a desktop. Question 1: Where do I get drivers to accomodate my vid card? The OS recognizes my card correctly, but won't let me go higher than the 800X600 resolution. I have an ATI Radeon 9200, and purchasing an nVidia card for compatibility just isn't an option.

    Question 2: How in hell do I set up my dial-up connection?!?! I tried to set it up, but it said it didn't detect a modem. It still let me set the connection up, but when I try to enable it, it gives me an error saying it cannot enable the device. (error 2 I think...sorry for not having more info) Don't beat me for this, but I use MSN dial-up service. I know I have to set up my username as MSN/username and password just as the password...but it won't even let me enable the modem...or whatever. (hehe, I'm a beginner, take it easy on me) I know it's a PCTel HSP56 Micromodem...do I need drivers? (I need to get out of the damn woods where dial-up isn't my only option!!!)

    Thanks for all the help everyone!!

Similar Threads

  1. Dual boot mandrake with win2kpro
    By grasshopper in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2005, 10:51 PM
  2. USB and Serial Port Problems + Dual Boot Question
    By Lixus Looser in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-19-2004, 11:54 PM
  3. Dual Boot RH9 and WinXP
    By Rastar in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2003, 03:22 AM
  4. XP Pro & Mandrake 9 dual boot
    By nomadfemme in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2002, 06:54 AM
  5. More Dual Boot problems
    By DaYee in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-04-2002, 12:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •