Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Does localhost need to be in the routing table?

  1. #1

    Does localhost need to be in the routing table?

    When I use the command "netstat -nr" localhost or 127.0.0.1 does NOT show up in the routing table. I can ping both localhost and 127.0.0.1. I am usíng Red Hat Enterprise Linux 3.

    So my question is does not localhost or 127.0.0.1 need to be in the routing table?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Nope. Localhost setting is set in hosts file and it's nonroutable.
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

Similar Threads

  1. Rearrange routing table to access an remote host!?
    By titanas in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 12:03 PM
  2. cant even ping localhost
    By sivaram_swdw in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-30-2005, 12:10 AM
  3. Setting up a Routing table in ClarkConnect 2.2 (RedHat 9)
    By wetmetalthong in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-2005, 01:40 AM
  4. Can't ftp to server (not even to localhost)
    By tob in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2004, 07:13 PM
  5. localhost and numbers
    By papanohair in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-31-2002, 06:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •