Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Shell script and spawning new konsole windows?

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Shell script and spawning new konsole windows?

    Hello there, I have a script I use to perform backups to another LAN connected machine, and during the course of the backups, three log files are generated. I was wondering how I could spawn new konsole windows from within the shell script, so that I can 'tail -f' these log files and keep track of what is going on. Is this possible or am I really opening a can of worms?
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

  2. #2
    xterm -e tail -s 10 filename.log ? or maybe konsole -e tail -s 10 filename.log
    telnet mtrek.game-host.org 1701

  3. #3
    I apologize for not getting back to this sooner. I am a little overwhelmed with work and school, not to mention wife, kiddo, and house. I haven't even had the chance to try this. Hopefully, I will be able to by the weekend. Thanks for the quick response though!
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

  4. #4
    Okay, I tried this out, but the konsole windows just don't stay open. They just open then close...
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

  5. #5
    okie - try this
    (oh yea - i am in the same busy boat you are )
    xterm -e "tail --follow=descriptor --sleep-interval=1 /path/file"
    telnet mtrek.game-host.org 1701

  6. #6
    Junior Member TGAM123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slovakia,Lučenec,Mládežnícka 27
    Posts
    56
    try to recompile your Konsole

  7. #7
    Junior Member TGAM123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slovakia,Lučenec,Mládežnícka 27
    Posts
    56
    sorry bad idea ... if you open that files...if they were generated there will be an error message .

Similar Threads

  1. Shell script coding
    By lab in forum Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-14-2012, 05:18 AM
  2. Shell script for geoiplookup cmd
    By Hariharan in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 10:18 AM
  3. Need of shell script
    By Hariharan in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 02:34 PM
  4. Shell script for monitoring
    By Hariharan in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 05:54 AM
  5. slackware Konsole php script
    By TGAM123 in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-02-2010, 06:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •