Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: pppoe

  1. #1

    pppoe

    I access the internet with dsl pppoe on a ubuntu linux box.I have a windows xp connected with a crossover cable.Every time I want to access the internet on the xp machine I have to manually enter the DNS server in the tcp/ip control panel.Is there a way update the dns server automatically?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Although IP addy change frequently, DNS server infos do rearly changes so it's okay to have DNS server info manually. Set your XP box to use private IP, set DNS to your ISP's and set gateway entry to the server's internal IP.

    DNS servers are not authenticated so anyone can use anyone's DNS servers as long as you know their IP addresses. Comcrap (my ISP) used to have poor DNS server which reset every hour or so (or it seems that way) and I used to point backup DNS to Telecity's (which I KNEW had stabel DNS server because they use Unix based) and works fine for me.
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

Similar Threads

  1. PPPoE in Mandy
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-28-2002, 08:01 PM
  2. PPPoE
    By trickster in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-13-2002, 12:33 AM
  3. rp-pppoe firewall
    By gjansky in forum Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-27-2002, 11:13 AM
  4. PPPoE + RH 7.2
    By vass0922 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2002, 07:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •