Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Ubuntu 6.06 and 'make'/Wake on LAN?

Thread: Ubuntu 6.06 and 'make'/Wake on LAN?

Hybrid View

Ubuntu 6.06 and 'make'/Wake on LAN?

Yesterday, I was completely fed up with Suse 10.1 and it's oddities (among those, dropping my RAID driver at random was the most irritating), so I decided to take it off of my backup server (although I do still run it on my desktop). I tried KUbuntu, Ubuntu Server, and Ubuntu Desktop (6.06). I tried the Server version first, but needed a graphical interface, as I am completely new to Ubuntu, so I tried the Desktop version. I hate brown. I hate orange. But you know what? I love the default theme, in GNOME nonetheless (I am a KDE user). So, I like the simplicity of GNOME and it is becoming my favorite, but Ubuntu is odd to me...
    I am trying to build the kernel module for my RAID card, and I can't even run 'make'. It doesn't exist on the system. So, I fire up Synaptic, install gcc, binutils, etc., and it is still NOWHERE to be found. How on earth is this going to work? There is a makedepend, make-memtest86+-boot-floppy, and makeg, but no 'make'. I am lost...