Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: How to sync phone book - Moto RAZR v3

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    How to sync phone book - Moto RAZR v3

    Well well ... I just got myself a Motorola RAZR V3 phone. It has bluetooth as well as a USB connection. I'd like it to connect to my Ubuntu 6.06 so that I can update phone numbers and other data.

    I checked Moto site and everything costs too much (a phone book app for 29.95?? ). I'm checking out sf.org and found a few but I'm looking for some experience from you guys with tips and what not or some pointers.

    I searched far and wide but MOST of the stuff I found (even on warz sites) are for Windows which I do not currently have.

    TIA ...
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  2. #2
    My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Ah, thanks.

    I was hoping to stay away from KDE stuff but what I found most use QT. Like moto4lin package.
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Woot !!!!!

    Got it working with kmobiletools. Pretty nice. I can sync with KDE Address book. I wonder what else is out there for Evolution Addressbook syncing.

    I'm going to try moto4linux package when I have more time.

    One thing I don't understand is, why would you use your computer to make/answer calls while you have a cell phone?? . I can see if it's SMS stuff since it's easier to write on the KB than on the dialpad but ... oh well ...
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    I would prefer to do that if I had automated call software. Prior to me getting my kickass job at GE Healthcare, I was burning time at a collections agency, and I must say, if I had to make lots of calls, a computer and a headset would R O C K ! ! !

    Thats one reason. For calling Bob and Jamie to find out what time to meet at the bowling alley would be retarded unless I already had my headset on for gizmo or teamspeak.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    My mobile phone is bluetooth capable. So if I have a bluetooth headset, a mobile phone, then why do I need a computer for? So I don't see the reason why we need a function to dial from my computer through a cell phone. Why can't I type while talking through a wireless earpiece? Why a make/receive call function on kmobiletools make sense? Not to me.
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  7. #7

    Post Settings?

    What settings did you use to connect your Razr to kmobiletools? I've been trying to establish a USB connection for my Razr V3xx and so far I've had no luck. The phone's USB setting is set to Data communication, and I've tried a new permutations of the configuration setting of kmobiletools (0.4.3.3).

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Mobile phone device
    Code:
    /dev/ttyACM0
    init string
    Code:
    AT S7=45 S0=0 V1 X4 &c1 E0
    The init string is default though it works just fine.
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  9. #9
    I have connected my Moto Razr V3m and am able to see the signal level and battery level on kMobile Tools. I am, however, unable to view the phone book or any other options.
    Any ideas????

Similar Threads

  1. Keep your boxes in time sync
    By peter in forum Tutorials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 05:37 AM
  2. Sync With Devices
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2005, 01:26 PM
  3. Sync system time?
    By red_pawn in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-24-2004, 04:05 PM
  4. sync date remotely
    By -JhAzEr- in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2002, 10:21 PM
  5. Remote Sync
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2002, 11:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •