Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem starting multiple X Servers

  1. #1

    Problem starting multiple X Servers

    Hey all,

    I'm running RHEL 4 and having issues starting multiple X servers with the startx command. While in runlevel 5 I ctrl-alt-f1 and type startx -- :1. The new gui starts up but is accessed via ctrl-alt-f9 instead of f8. I then jump back to vt1 and issue startx -- :2. This new gui starts on f10 and hangs at a blue screen. Here is the Xorg.2.log

    ########################
    X Window System Version 6.8.2
    Release Date: 9 February 2005
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.8.2
    Build Operating System: Linux 2.4.21-25.ELsmp i686 [ELF]
    Current Operating System: Linux UW-RASBERRYL 2.6.9-34.EL #1 Fri Feb 24 16:44:51 EST
    2006 i686
    Build Date: 19 September 2005
    Build Host: porky.build.redhat.com

    Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.X.Org
    to make sure that you have the latest version.
    Module Loader present
    OS Kernel: Linux version 2.6.9-34.EL (bhcompile@hs20-bc1-7.build.redhat.com) (gcc ve
    rsion 3.4.5 20051201 (Red Hat 3.4.5-2)) #1 Fri Feb 24 16:44:51 EST 2006
    Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
    (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
    (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.2.log", Time: Thu Jul 13 20:00:31 2006
    (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
    (==) ServerLayout "Default Layout"
    (**) |-->Screen "Screen0" (0)
    (**) | |-->Monitor "Monitor0"
    (**) | |-->Device "Videocard0"
    (**) |-->Input Device "Mouse0"
    (**) |-->Input Device "Keyboard0"
    (**) FontPath set to "unix/:7100"
    (**) RgbPath set to "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    (==) ModulePath set to "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
    (WW) Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (No such file or directory)
    (II) Module ABI versions:
    X.Org ANSI C Emulation: 0.2
    X.Org Video Driver: 0.7
    X.Org XInput driver : 0.4
    X.Org Server Extension : 0.2
    X.Org Font Renderer : 0.4
    (II) Loader running on linux
    (II) LoadModule: "bitmap"
    (II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libbitmap.a
    (II) Module bitmap: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 1.0.0
    Module class: X.Org Font Renderer
    ABI class: X.Org Font Renderer, version 0.4
    (II) Loading font Bitmap
    (II) LoadModule: "pcidata"
    (II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libpcidata.a
    (II) Module pcidata: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 1.0.0
    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
    (--) using VT number 10


    (II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
    (II) Module vgahw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 0.1.0
    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
    (**) I810(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 24
    (==) I810(0): RGB weight 888
    (==) I810(0): Default visual is TrueColor
    (II) Loading sub module "xaa"
    (II) LoadModule: "xaa"
    (II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libxaa.a
    (II) Module xaa: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 1.2.0
    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
    (**) I810(0): DRI is disabled because it runs only at 16-bit depth.
    (II) Loading sub module "vbe"
    (II) LoadModule: "vbe"
    (II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvbe.a
    (II) Module vbe: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 1.1.0
    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
    (II) Loading sub module "int10"
    (II) LoadModule: "int10"
    (II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/linux/libint10.a
    (II) Module int10: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 1.0.0
    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
    :
    II) I810(0): initializing int10
    (II) I810(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
    (II) I810(0): VESA BIOS detected
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE Version 3.0
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE Total Mem: 1024 kB
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM: Intel(R) 815 Chipset Video BIOS
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM Software Rev: 35.19
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM Vendor: Intel Corporation
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM Product: Intel(R) 815 Chipset
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM Product Rev: Hardware Version 0.0
    (II) Loading sub module "ddc"
    (II) LoadModule: "ddc"
    (II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libddc.a
    (II) Module ddc: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 1.0.0
    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE DDC supported
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE DDC Level none
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE DDC transfer in appr. 0 sec.
    (II) I810(0): VESA VBE DDC read failed
    (--) I810(0): Chipset: "i815"
    (--) I810(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xF8000000
    (--) I810(0): IO registers at addr 0xFFA80000
    (II) I810(0): I810CheckAvailableMemory: 432108k available
    (==) I810(0): Will alloc AGP framebuffer: 8192 kByte
    (==) I810(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
    (II) I810(0): Monitor0: Using hsync range of 30.00-70.00 kHz
    (II) I810(0): Monitor0: Using vrefresh range of 50.00-160.00 Hz
    (II) I810(0): Clock range: 9.50 to 136.00 MHz
    (Iclock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "576x432" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "640x480" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "1280x960" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan
    )
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "640x480" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "640x512" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "1280x1024" (hsync out of range)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "640x512" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "1280x1024" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublesca
    n)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "640x512" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "1600x1200" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublesca
    n)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "800x600" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "1600x1200" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublesca
    n)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "800x600" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "1600x1200" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublesca
    n)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "800x600" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "1600x1200" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublesca
    n)
    (II) I810(0): Not using default mode "800x600" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
    : ABI class: X.Org ANSI C Emulation, version 0.2
    (II) Loading sub module "ramdac"
    (II) LoadModule: "ramdac"
    (II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libramdac.a
    (II) Module ramdac: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 0.1.0
    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
    (II) I810(0): XvMC is Disabled: use XvMCSurfaces config option to enable.
    (==) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
    (II) do I need RAC? No, I don't.
    (
    I
    (II) I810(0): Allocated Scratch Memory
    (II) I810(0): Using XFree86 Acceleration Architecture (XAA)
    Screen to screen bit blits
    Solid filled rectangles
    8x8 mono pattern filled rectangles
    Indirect CPU to Screen color expansion
    Solid Horizontal and Vertical Lines
    Offscreen Pixmaps
    Setting up tile and stipple cache:
    20 128x128 slots
    4 256x256 slots
    (==) I810(0): Backing store disabled
    (==) I810(0): Silken mouse enabled
    (**) Option "dpms"
    (**) I810(0): DPMS enabled
    (WW) I810(0): Direct rendering disabled
    (==) RandR enabled
    (II) Initializing built-in extension MIT-SHM
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XInputExtension
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XTEST
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XKEYBOARD
    (II) Initializing built-in extension LBX
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XC-APPGROUP
    (II) Initializing built-in extension SECURITY
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XINERAMA
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XFIXES
    II) Initializing built-in extension XINERAMA
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XFIXES
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XFree86-Bigfont
    (II) Initializing built-in extension RENDER
    (II) Initializing built-in extension RANDR
    (II) Initializing built-in extension COMPOSITE
    (II) Initializing built-in extension DAMAGE
    (II) Initializing built-in extension XEVIE
    (**) Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    (**) Mouse0: Device: "/dev/input/mice"
    (**) Mouse0: Protocol: "IMPS/2"
    (**) Option "CorePointer"
    (**) Mouse0: Core Pointer
    (**) Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    (**) Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    (**) Mouse0: Emulate3Buttons, Emulate3Timeout: 50
    (**) Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    (**) Mouse0: ZAxisMapping: buttons 4 and 5
    (**) Mouse0: Buttons: 5
    (**) Option "CoreKeyboard"
    (**) Keyboard0: Core Keyboard
    (**) Option "Protocol" "standard"
    (**) Keyboard0: Protocol: standard
    (**) Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    (**) Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    (**) Keyboard0: XkbRules: "xorg"
    (**) Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    (**) Keyboard0: XkbModel: "pc105"
    (**) Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    (**) Keyboard0: XkbLayout: "us"
    (**) Option "CustomKeycodes" "off"
    (**) Keyboard0: CustomKeycodes disabled
    (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "Keyboard0" (type: KEYBOARD)
    (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "Mouse0" (type: MOUSE)
    (II) Mouse0: ps2EnableDataReporting: succeeded

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    If yuou can start one, two or more just comes to a resources issue (ram, cache, cpu, etc).

    startx -- :1
    startx -- :2

    etc. Of course, you should have your main display working correctly.

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Juneau, Alaska
    Posts
    31
    What appears if you do <ctl+alt+f8> ?

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Schotty
    If yuou can start one, two or more just comes to a resources issue (ram, cache, cpu, etc).

    startx -- :1
    startx -- :2

    etc. Of course, you should have your main display working correctly.

    That makes sense. Yes, my main display is working correctly. Just for kicks I edited my /etc/X11/gdm/gdm.conf to start up 2 xservers upon boot and I can access them with no problem.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by camelrider
    What appears if you do <ctl+alt+f8> ?
    I get the first xserver. It's just not consistent in bringing up addtional servers. Like the previous poster said, it's probably a resource issue.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    What video card?
    How much system RAM?

    I can run CentOS 4.1 on systems with 256MB ram, and an el cheapo onboard with 2 x sessions going, and do a 3rd over ssh remotely. Its not great, but works fine. These are athlon 1800XP systems FWIW.

  7. #7
    It's not a beefy system, just something to play around with. I got 512mb ram and integrated video card, Intel i810 driver.

  8. #8
    Associate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Juneau, Alaska
    Posts
    31
    Does your first Xserver also appeaar on <ctl-alt-f7> ?

    How many tty are started at boot? I believe the default on most systems is six tty.
    If you are starting seven, then your first Xserver would be pushed up to f8 and subsequent ones pushed up accordingly.

    Check /etc/inittab. Mine looks like this:
    <snip>
    # Run gettys in standard runlevels
    1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
    2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
    3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
    4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
    5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
    6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6
    <snip>
    Last edited by camelrider; 08-07-2006 at 08:40 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. problem with Routing for multiple uplinks/providers on RH9 2.4.36.2
    By ciuly in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-24-2009, 10:04 PM
  2. Spanning web services across multiple servers
    By digitalmouse in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-10-2006, 01:36 AM
  3. Multiple window problem
    By jaychoksi in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-25-2005, 03:39 AM
  4. Problem starting Apache 2.0
    By Compunuts in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2003, 02:15 AM
  5. Help setting up multiple servers (including UNIX) and internet on LAN!
    By beatlejuice321 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-2002, 04:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •