Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Can't log in locally, only option showing is XDMCP - Please help!

Thread: Can't log in locally, only option showing is XDMCP - Please help!

Question Can't log in locally, only option showing is XDMCP - Please help!

OK, I'm new to linux but I've used unix a while back. Oh, and how new can you really be when this is your third installation on the same machine???? (install, hard drive crash, etc etc etc!)

I'm using SuSE 10.1 and GNOME (well, trying to use GNOME, anyway)

So here's the problem: When I boot up and try and log in, it asks which host I want, because it's XDMCP enabled. I really don't want that, I want to just log into my machine locally. I even tried localhost, but that didn't work.

When I eventually log into root via the command line, I can't get into the configuration. I'm running GNOME and both gdm and gdmsetup tell me it can't open the display.

So I hope someone can help me with this....otherwise, it's install number 4 for me!!

I searched and asked around, but I can't seem to get anytwhere.

Thanks in advance,
    Dave

For the record, SuSE and Gnome is kind of like cats and dogs. SuSE loves KDE, and hates Gnome. I've heard nothing but bad things about Gnome on SuSE. If you wish to use Gnome and you're new to Linux, may I suggest Ubuntu or Fedora. If you're willing to switch to KDE and stick with SuSE, I have a feeling it might work out better for you.