Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Mandrake 10

  1. #1
    GeminiJon
    Guest

    Mandrake 10

    Anybody install this one yet?

    I just burned CD's 1, 2, & 3 this afternoon and am going to try an install after I format my hard drive and reinstall XP.

    I'm completely new to linux and am really excited, this looks great.


  2. #2

    Re:Mandrake 10

    Havent had a look at it yet, welcome to linux - it is great!
    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

  3. #3
    GeminiJon
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 10

    Well I would agree with you if I hadn't had problems with it this weekend.

    I installed Mandrake 10 and chose all the desktops at the install screen and it finished installing and asked me which desktop I would prefer to use, so I thought I'd try KDE first.

    The bootloader works fine, after reboot it came up and I chose linux. Everything looked okay until the KDE progress stopped at 85% on the blue folder, I just thought it was taking too long but I waited for it to continue and it went to a blank blue screen, nothing else.

    I rebooted and tried the other choices, linux-nonfb does the same. And I don't know anything about failsafe.

    Could anyone help me out? I'd really like to see linux working on my pc.

    System Specs:
    P4 2.4 GH 533fsb
    512 MB PC2100 or 2700 memory
    Liteon DVD
    NEC CDRW
    Soundblaster Live
    GeForce4 420MX 64 MB video
    Windows XP Home on C:

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    304

    Re:Mandrake 10

    do you have a "boot: " prompt at the boot selection screen? if so you might try:

    linux noscsi

    and see if that helps... other boot parameters that might help alone or in combination include:
    nousb
    nopci
    noapm
    noacpi
    acpi=no
    apm=no
    nomce
    nopcmcia


    I hope this helps... good luck and let us know if any of those work...

  5. #5
    basho
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 10

    I'm posting this from Mandrake 10.0 and Konqueror... My first Linux install at home (well, my second, I used old RedHat 9 disks to get the machine going, and to install bit torrent to get the Mandrake iso images).

    The install process DID ask for Disk 4 (the bit torrent only had three disks), but I could skip it and things seem to work ok, so far...

    My only problem was with the sound driver (ALSA), the boot process hangs trying to load it. If I start up in interactive mode and not load it everything else works fine. I'll post another top level message to see if people can help.

  6. #6
    drinking_beer
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 10

    Other problems --- Xmms crashes everytime I try to launch it from the menus. To get it to work, either launch it from a shell ($ xmms), or kill artsd (# pidof artsd, # kill -9 PID) then the menu entry for Xmms works fine. Whenever I kill the artsd I've had no probs with other apps. Results may vary.

    KDE's Kontact is a nice collection of apps, but the knotes feature will lock it right up. Everytime.

    Trying to burn from the CLI gives me this error ---
    "cdrecord: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/dev/sg*'. Cannot open SCSI driver." I've tried running it as root and as a user. Not sure about this one. "cdrecord --scanbus" gives me 1,1,0 for my burner. K3B works great though.

    Haven't had any boot problems (AthlonXP2000+, Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 512MB PC2700, GF4 Ti4200 128MB, not using any USB devices, but the USB ports are all detected) with 10.0 and the stock 2.6.3 kernel. I boot to runlevel 3 with the nonfb option as default.

    Aside from these little points, I'm really impressed with Mandrake 10.0. KDE 3.2 is responsive and stable (I don't like Gnome so I haven't tried it. Not starting a flame war, just personal preference). KOffice 1.3 is really sweet and it'll save to .sxw format. Love it. When Mandrake releases the official version I'm going to buy it.

  7. #7
    drinking_beer
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 10

    One more thing, inorder to get java and flash working with FireFox and/or Mozilla, you have to install libstdc++2.10-2.96-0.83mdk.i586.rpm (a quick google search will find it). Just simply install that package and restart your browser. The plugins will be working just like that.

  8. #8
    Kobel
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 10

    Where did you get it GeminiJon? ???
    I'm trying to find recent mandrake or redhat, but I can't :-[
    Can anyone help me?
    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by GeminiJon
    Anybody install this one yet?

    I just burned CD's 1, 2, & 3 this afternoon and am going to try an install after I format my hard drive and reinstall XP.

    I'm completely new to linux and am really excited, this looks great.


  9. #9
    basho
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 10

    I used Bit Torrent to get the ISO images, see


    http://www.mandrakelinux.com/en/ftp.php3

    for the torrent file to get you started.


  10. #10

    same problem basicly

    I have the same problem basicly. I am new to this forum and Linux.I posted in the wrong area earlier,sorry about that. But my problem is that when I start up mandrake 10.0 it hangs for about 4 minutes.
    Also I can't get on line for some reason. I am using ADSL. I must ask, where is " Boot Selection Screen"? is it in console or KDE ? I don't want to mess anything up by putting commands in the wrong program.
    A neighbour of mine installed this for me so I'm on my own the rest of the way. I am very happy to have this new OS as I have been using windows for a long time and would like to learn about Mandrake and see the difference between the 2 and explore it so I need all the help I can get. I am running IntelR / pentiumR 4 / cpu 1500mhz/ 1.51GHz/ 256 Ram.
    I am using Win XP to get on line.

    Quote Originally Posted by gaxprels
    do you have a "boot: " prompt at the boot selection screen? if so you might try:

    linux noscsi

    and see if that helps... other boot parameters that might help alone or in combination include:
    nousb
    nopci
    noapm
    noacpi
    acpi=no
    apm=no
    nomce
    nopcmcia


    I hope this helps... good luck and let us know if any of those work...

Similar Threads

  1. What is Mandrake all about??
    By in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-03-2003, 12:21 AM
  2. Mandrake 9.0 Help!!
    By Tuzinor in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-01-2002, 03:12 AM
  3. Mandrake 8.1 CDs?
    By Cooter in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2002, 10:41 AM
  4. Mandrake 8.1 and HPT 370/372
    By RAID in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-28-2002, 03:56 PM
  5. Mandrake
    By Dirkon101 in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-08-2001, 03:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •