Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: WMA codecs ??

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    WMA codecs ??

    Does anyone know where I can get the codec plugin for Totem which can handle WMA files?

    Ubuntu 5.10 , Gnome, AMD64, Totem 1.2.0, TotemGstreamer 1.2.0

    TIA
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Ah, nevermind. Got it. I removed Gstreamer and installed Xine backend. Works well now.
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  3. #3
    Advisor Lovechild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Århus, Denmark
    Posts
    579
    Fluendo are currently working on brining legal codec support to GStreamer - I'm currently testing the wma/wmv plugins and they are working really well for me so in a short time you to can get legally licensed support on your Linux box - the pricing should be about 5$
    Why are you not using Fedora Core?

    My blog

  4. #4
    Is WMA3 working now? I know it still isn't in anyone on OS X. :/

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Crap.... even xine don't work well.

    The encoding was for WM Player V9 (according to the site). It will play a few and then stopped working until restart. I'm going to file bug report when I have more time and play with the site again.

    Lovechild; I think charing for the works of properitary compartible codes are fine but will hurt the business prospect in the long run. I simply don't buy from anyone who uses those formats or won't let me sample it. This site I'm trying was trying to sell me music files over the Net for non-English songs. But they really limit themselves by making it only WMA files and I'm not going to buy codes just to be able to play WMA files. I'm not going to drop dead not being able to listen to the file formats they are trying to sell me. I take it as their loss.
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760
    Well try this, if you can, use a windows box or a windows vm in vmware to transode them

    http://www.srcf.ucam.org/~wdhf2/transcoder/
    http://www.planetdvb.net/staxrip/

Similar Threads

  1. Vista codecs and second partition security
    By Mosqwik in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-25-2007, 09:24 PM
  2. Fluendo releases licensed codecs
    By Lovechild in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2007, 11:26 PM
  3. I need codecs
    By BurntAsh in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2003, 04:29 PM
  4. Transcode : In Search of the Missing Codecs
    By Schotty in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-11-2003, 04:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •